Tuesday, February 20, 2018

T20 Festival to be 1st at 'Lara'

Brian Lara Stadium in Tarouba

The Trinidad and Tobago Cricket Board (TTCB) NGC Twenty20 Festival will be the first major tournament to be played at the Brian Lara Stadium in Tarouba.

This was confirmed by chairman of the TTCB National League Patrick Rampersad yesterday following the announcement by Minister of Sport Darryl Smith that the long-awaited venue was finally completed and that it would be handed over to the Ministry of Sport in the next few weeks.

The T20 Festival, which is the climax of the domestic TTCB season and features the top clubs from the Premier Division One and Two and will be played from April 29 to May 5.

Queen's Park Cricket Club are the defending Premiership T20 champions and will start their T20 campaign today against their Premier Division Two counterparts QPCC II in Group 1 action.

The Premiership T20 bowled off yesterday with 2015 champions Merry Boys whipping HKL Aranjuez Sports by nine wickets in Santa Cruz and 2013 winners PowerGen Penal Sports defeating Caldrac Club by seven runs in Penal.

Aranjuez made 111 for two in their 20 overs with Kadeem Williams hitting 50 not out.

Merry Boys replied with 112 for one off 9.3 overs with Rishaad Harris hitting an unbeaten 69 off 35 balls. Harris smacked four sixes and nine fours.

At Syne Village in Penal, PowerGen batted first and made 189 for seven and Caldrac came close, replying with 182 for eight when the overs ran out.


Summarised scores:

At Santa Cruz

HKL Aranjuez 111-2 (20 overs) (Kadeem Williams 50, Cleavon Williams 25, Deon Ferrier 25) vs Merry Boys 112-1 (9.3 overs) (Rishaad Harris 69 n.o., Aaron Alfred 23 n.o.)

—Merry Boys won by 9 wickets


At Syne Village

PowerGen Penal 189-7 (20 overs) (Jason Mohammed 46, Evin Lewis 34, Andre Fletcher 39, Jeron Maniram 25; Eugene LaFleur 2/24, Jon Russ Jaggesar 2/32) vs Caldrac 182-8 (20 overs) (Franklyn Rouse 43, Crystian Thurton 38, Leonardo Julien 35 n.o., A Andrade 34; M Deyal 4/27)

—PowerGen Penal won by 7 runs


At Tableland

Tableland Sports 129-7 (20 overs) (K Mahabir 20 n.o., Tariq Abdool 20 n.o.; J Seales 2/17, P Sinanan 2/11, D Sammy 2/36) vs T&T Prison Sports 133-2 (15.1 overs) (D Baird 50, D James 56 n.o.)

—Prison Sports won by 8 wickets


At Pierre Road

Alescon Comets 178-4 (20 overs) (Steven Katwaroo 64, Wendel George 70) vs Moosai Sports 135-5 (20 overs) (D Alden 40, K Hamilton 38, A Geeban 27)

—Comets won by 43 runs