Saturday, January 20, 2018

Another day, another blacklist *

ON Tuesday, T&T made the Big List. We're one of 17 countries named by the European Union as non-cooperative tax jurisdictions.

Alongside us is a very mixed bag. There are three other Caricom members—Barbados, Grenada and St Lucia.

There's a big offshore player—Panama. We have two Middle-East energy producers—Bahrain and the United Arab Emirates. Plus a couple of US dependencies—American Samoa and Guam. We have one big industrial economy, South Korea; and China's tiny ex-Portuguese territory of Macao, next to Hong Kong.

Missing are all the big names. There is no Cayman Islands, no Bahamas or Bermuda, no British Virgin Islands. There is no Switzerland or Luxemburg. And no mention of the US state of Delaware, a huge centre for low-tax company registration.

So what does the list mean?


To get the full story, subscribe or login