Thursday, January 18, 2018

What to do with Petrotrin?

...Board meets with PM

Members of the Petrotrin Board meets with the politicians., Photo courtesy the OPM.

PRIME Minister Dr Keith Rowley on Wednesday received a promised status report from the Petrotrin board detailing the progress made in the months since its appointment in September.

The meeting featured discussions on the various options available as work continues towards restructuring the wholly State-owned company, according to a statement issued by the Office of the Prime Minister.

Throughout 2017 Government continued its systematic review of the operations at Petrotrin.

It was in June 2017 that Prime Minister Rowley received a comprehensive report from the Petrotrin Review Committee which he appointed in March 2017.

The establishment of the Petrotrin Review Committee followed a Cabinet decision that called for an assessment of operations at the energy company in light of falling revenues, allegations of mismanagement and decreasing oil prices worldwide.

Minister of Energy and Energy Affairs Franklin Khan, Minister of Finance  Colm Imbert, Minister of Planning and Development Camille Robinson-Regis, Minister of Public Utilities Robert Le Hunte, Minister in the Ministry of the Attorney General and Legal Affairs and the Office of the Prime MinisterStuart Young and Minister in the Ministry of Finance Allyson West attended Wednesday's meeting.

The members of Petrotrin's Board of Directors are: Wilfred Espinet (Chairman), Reynold Ajodhasingh (Deputy Chairman), Anthony Chan Tack, Nigel Edwards, Joel Harding, Selwyn Lashley, Eustace Nancis, Linda Rajpaul and Randhir Rampersad.