Thursday, February 22, 2018

Williams, Stewart hunt fifth straight title*

Caption:TOP GUNS: From left, Daneil Williams, Daynte Stewart, Rheeza Grant and Abby Blackman display their prizes after being crowned Trinidad and Tobago Volleyball Federation Beach Series 2017 champions at Saith Park, last December.

DANEIL WILLIAMS and Daynte Stewart will go after their fifth title in succession when the National Beach Volleyball Circuit continues today at Saith Park, Chaguanas.
After the men’s and women’s events were played simultaneously in all five local tournaments last year, the 2018 season began yesterday with a women only competition which concluded after press time.
The men will take centre stage from 9 a.m. today.
Williams only started playing with last year’s Commonwealth Games youth player Stewart in September, but they are already at the top of the rankings after winning the last three local tournaments as well as the title in the Barbados Olympic Association’s Independence Invitational Games in November.

To get the full story, subscribe or login