Friday, December 15, 2017

40 to battle at Calypso Fiesta today


Mark Fraser

The stage is set for one of the most anticipated annual Carnival events—Calypso Fiesta.

The event takes place today at Skinner Park, San Fernando, where 40 calypsonians will battle in song from high noon.

Calypso Fiesta is the semifinal round of the Calypso Monarch competition.

The event, which begins at midday and is usually sold out,  stretches into the night with an after party. It will feature 40 artistes in competition hoping to make it to the 2014 Calypso Monarch finals on Carnival Sunday night. 

And although there were complaints about the hike in ticket prices, chairman of the Trinbago Unified Calypsonians Organisation (TUCO) South Central Zone Steve “Ras Kommanda” Pascall said sales were good.

The ticket price was increased from $250 to $300 because of overhead expenditure, said Pascall. 

Brother Resistance (Lutalo Masimba), president of TUCO, said patrons attending the show can expect “two events for the price of one”.

Resistance added: “Everything is in place for Calypso Fiesta. We have 40 top calypsonians vying for a spot in the finals. 

“We have rebranded the event. After performances from the 40 top calypsonians, we will be having a full length show with entertainers like Ronnie McIntosh, Dil-e-Nadan, Black Stalin and Lord Nelson. We will be bridging the gap with younger ones like Mr Killaa (Rolly Polly). It is a brand new Calypso Fiesta. It is in the south of our beautiful island.”

Former winners of the competition—Karen Asche, Weston “Cro Cro” Rawlins, Singing Sandra and Hollis “Chalkdust” Liverpool—are among the big names in the competition. 

Roger “Bodyguard” Mohammed’s controversial song “False Papers” has also made it to the semi finals.

Mohammed had attempted to join the cast at Kalypso Revue in Port of Spain but he was refused by manager Sugar Aloes (Michael Osouna).

Eventually, calypsonian Cro Cro (Weston Rawlins), kick-started Icons Tent with the help of generous patrons and Body Guard got a spot on the playbill there. 

Calypsonian Sugar Aloes (Michael Osouna) will not be a part of the competition this year. He said his decision to stay out of the competition was based on the bad experience he had at the last Calypso Fiesta, when he was pelted with oranges and roti, for what he believes was his decision to sing at People’s Partnership (PP) campaign events.

The following is the order of appearance

1. Snakey (Heaven Charles)

2. Chalkdust (Hollis Liverpool)

3. Body Guard (Roger Mohammed) 

4. Rondell Donawa

5. King Luta (Morel Peters)

6. Heather McIntosh

7. Giselle Fraser-Washington

8. Karen Eccles-Thomas

9. Bunny B (Neville Brown)

10. Amrika Mutroo

11. Mistah Shak (Selvon Noel)

12. Karene Asche

13. All Rounder (Anthony Hendrickson)

14. Nicole Thomas

15. Erphaan Alves

16. Alana Sinnette-Khan

17. Marlon Edwards

18. Brother Mudada—Allan Fortune

19. Devon Seale 

20. Brother Valentino 

(Anthony Emrold Phillip)

21. Chucky Gordon (Roderick Gordon)

22. Psalmist (Sean Daniel)

23. Singing Francine 

(Francine Edwards)

24. Singing Sandra 

(Sandra Des Vignes Millington)

25. Young Rose (Rosemary Mitchell)

26. Myron B (Byron Browne)

27. Spicey (Tammico Moore)

28. Cro Cro (Weston Rawlins)

29. Tobago Chalkie (Alex Gift)

30. Skatie (Carlos James)

31. Lesley Ann Ellis

32. GG (Giselle Fraser-Washington)

33. KeKe (Kerice Pascal)

34. Fya Empress (Lornette Nedd-Reid)

35. Brian London

36. Stephen Marcelle

37. Bevon St Clair

38. Kurt Allen

39. Allan Welch

40. Queen Victoria (Victoria Cooper)