Tuesday, January 16, 2018

O’Connor crowned Calypso Monarch


'THE HUNT IS ON': Duane O’Connor, right, is relieved of his microphone by Sgt Roger Alexander, while "Police Commissioner" Ian Alleyne, left, looks on, at the end of O'Connor's first round performance at the Dimanche Gras show, at the Queeen's Park Savannah in Port of Spain, on Sunday night. O'Connor sang "The Hunt is On", a tribute to Alleyne, host of TV6’s popular Crime Watch programme. O'Connor was later crowned 2012 Calypso Monarch. Photo: STEPHEN DOOBAY

Kwame Laurence

Duane O’Connor delivered two solid performances to be crowned 2012 Calypso Monarch at the Queen's Park Savannah, in Port of Spain, early this morning.

The 2012 Young King sang “The Hunt Is On” and “Long Live Calypso” to take home the $1 million first prize, beating Kurt Allen and last year’s monarch Karene Asche into second and third, respectively.

O’Connor’s energetic delivery of “The Hunt Is On”, a tribute to TV6’s Crime Watch host Ian Alleyne, was further enhanced when Alleyne and Sgt Roger Alexander of the North Eastern Division Task Force (NEDTF) drove on stage with a white Mercedes Benz, registration number PCN 2.

O’Connor was relieved of his microphone and escorted off the stage by Alexander, with both hands behind his back as if handcuffed, while Alleyne, attired like Police Commissioner Dwayne Gibbs, waved to patrons before addressing them.

“It is not alleged, it is a fact, that is performance.

“Ladies and gentlemen, it’s wet, after wet, after wet.”

At this point the already cheering crowd responded by adding a few more decibels to its roar of approval.

O’Connor’s second selection, “Long Live Calypso”, delivered the message that other art forms such as Chutney and Soca came out of the bowels of calypso, and despite the prominence they appear to hold over their “mother” (calypso), she will remain strong and live long.

Allen had to settle for second despite two crowd pleasing renditions - “Long Live Calypso” and “Ah Ledge”. Asche’s delivery of “Against All Odds” and “You Will Win The Battle But” saw her cop third spot.

Also registering victories this morning were Roland St George and Chariss Bovell, who were crowned King and Queen of Carnival, respectively.

Portraying “Ralliez-Vous A Mon Panache Blanci”, St George earned 586 points to the 583 collected by “Malak Yahweh – The Praying Mantis”, portrayed by Gerard Weekes, after the judges had to go to a tiebreaker to separate the two. Curtis Eustace’s portrayal, “D Midnight Messenger” was third with 417 points.

And Bovell, who portrayed “Mother of Humanity—The Weeping Madonna" from Brian MacFarlane's Sanctification—In Search Of, but presented by The Art Factory, won the approval of the judges with 424 points.

Roxanne Omalo’s "The Last Dance of The Enchanted Witches", from Goodhope Association's presentation, Dance Dance Dance, collected 400 points to take second, while Rose Marie Jagessar finished third with "Wachiwi–I Dream of a Bustle Dancer" from Lionel Jagessar & Associates' Festival of Nations.


Calypso Monarch

1. Duane O’Connor (The Hunt is On, Long Live Calypso)

2. Kurt Allen (Long Live Calypso, Ah Ledge)

3. Karene Asche (Against All Odds, You Will Win The Battle But)

4. Devon Seale (One Is One, Snapshots)

5. Heather Mac Intosh (The Adjective, One Gone)

6. Dr. Hollis “Chalkdust” Liverpool (Shame Mr Shak, How’s Dat)

7. Michael “Sugar Aloes” Osouna (Doh Force Meh Hand, Chinese Kidnapping)

8. Dexter “Stinger” Parsons (My Reason For Being Here, Advice In Song)

9. Brian London (Not Brian, Doh Complain - Come Plain)

10. Sandra “Singing Sandra” Des Vignes-Millington (On Turning 50, Why I Sing)

11. Lesley Ann Ellis (Street Justice, Mothers and Others)

12. Weston “Cro Cro” Rawlins (Say Something, Release Them)

King of Carnival

1. Roland St George - Ralliez-Vous A Mon Panache Blanci

2. Gerard Weekes - Malak Yahweh - The Praying Mantis

3. Curtis Eustace - The Midnight Messenger, The Mask Of

4. Adrian Young - The Crow

5. Earl Thompson - Icarus Ascending

6. Brian Chin - Prince Siegfried, the story of Swan Lake, tribute to Wayne Berkeley

7. Zainool Mohammed - Kwak Waka Wakin - the Sacred Totem

8. Wade Madray - Flight of Conscience

9. Jhawhan Thomas - Alpha

10. Shane Philip - Tree of Life

Queen of Carnival

1. Chariss Bovell - Mother of Humanity-The Weeping Madonna

2. Roxanne Omalo - Last Dance of the Enchanted Witches

3. Rose Marie Kuru Jagessar - Wachiwi-I Dream of a Bustle Dancer

4. Shari Derek - D’Woman and D’Butterflies

5. Kay Mason - Amethyst Rising

6. Lanie Lezama - Harmony

7. Cherry-Ann Patrice Valere - The Limbo Dancer

8. Laura Rampersad - Princess of the Mardi Gras

9. Patricia Bailey - Exotic Sunset on the Horizon

10. Avernell Johnson - Princess Odette, Queen of the Swans