Wednesday, February 21, 2018

342 yet to file

...No Integrity declarations from MPs

OPPOSITION Leader and Diego Martin West MP Dr Keith Rowley is among a list of 342 people in public life who have failed to file a Declaration of Income, Assets and Liabilities and a Statement of Registrable Interests with the Integrity Commission for the year ended December 31, 2011.

The Integrity Commission published the notice yesterday following publication of the lists for 2009, with 16 people, and 2010—379 people—on Saturday.

Other People's National Movement (PNM) members on the 2011 list included Diego Martin Central MP Dr Amery Browne, Opposition senator and leader of Opposition Business in the Senate, Pennelope Beckles-Robinson, and Opposition senator Fitzgerald Hinds, who also failed to file for 2010.

Temporary senators on the list included Mariano Browne, Archbishop Barbara Gray-Burke, Nicholas Galt, Salisha Khan and Deon Isaac.

On the list on the Government side were former senator and former Gender, Youth and Child Development minister Verna St Rose Greaves, Tobago East MP and Minister in the Ministry of the People Vernella Alleyne-Toppin, former government senator Prof Patrick Watson, and Cumuto/Manzanilla MP and former minister in the Ministry of Justice, Collin Partap, who also failed to declare for 2010.

There were16 permanent secretaries on the list, ten of whom had also failed to declare for 2010.

A number of Tobago House of Assemblymen were on the list, including minority leader Ashworth Jack, Steve Jack, Huey Cadette, Gary Melville and Orville Jordan.

The 2011 list includes former Caribbean Airlines (CAL) chairman George Nicholas III, who also failed to declare for 2009.

Former CAL directors Allan Clovis, Susan Smith and current director Avedanand Persad failed to declare from 2009 to 2011, while current director Venosh Sagewan-Maraj failed to declare for 2010 and 2011.

Also failing to declare for 2011 are Port Authority chairman Joseph Toney, ex-chairman of the Congress of the People, who was also on the 2010 list, and Petrotrin chairman Lindsay Gillette, who also failed to declare for both 2009 and 2010.

Brian Manning, son of former prime minister Patrick Manning, was on both the 2010 and 2011 lists for the National Infrastructure Development Company.

Also on the list were musician and deputy chairman of Queen's Hall Mungal Patasar; Miss Universe 1977 and deputy chairman of the Tourism Development Board Janelle Penny Commissiong-Chow, and chairman of Multicinemas Ltd, owners of MovieTowne, Derek Chin, who failed to declare in his capacity as Trinidad and Tobago Racing Authority chairman.