6 Ministers out of country

SIX ministers are currently out of the country.

A release on Wednesday from the Government Information Service Ltd (GISL) stated that Science and Technology Minister Rupert Griffith, Trade Minister Vasant Bharath, Labour Minister Errol McLeod, Communications Minister Jamal Mohammed, Foreign Affairs Minister Winston Dookeran and Gender Minister Marlene Coudray are all overseas.

As of December 7, Tertiary Education Minister Fazal Karim has been appointed to act for Griffith. Effective December 8, Tourism Minister Stephen Cadiz has been appointed to act for Bharath and Works and Infrastructure Minister Emmanuel George for McLeod. From December 9, Local Government Minister Dr Suruj Rambachan has been acting for Mohammed and Planning Minister Dr Bhoe Tewarie for Coudray. Housing Minister Dr Roodal Moonilal has been acting for Dookeran since December 10.

The release did not state for how long these ministers will be acting.

Karim, Cadiz, and Rambachan had held the portfolios for which they are now acting before the Cabinet reshuffle in May.

This content requires the latest Adobe Flash Player and a browser with JavaScript enabled. Click here for a free download of the latest Adobe Flash Player.

Express Poll

Are you experiencing the benefits of the $1 billion worth in water projects since 2010?

  • Yes
  • No

Newsletter Sign Up

Subscribe to our FREE Digital Divide Newsletter.
To subscribe enter your email address
For Email Marketing you can trust


More Weather