Thursday, February 22, 2018

Baron in Groovy Soca Monarch race

Calypsonian Baron (Timothy Watkins Jr) has gained a spot in the semifinal round of the 2014 Groovy Soca Monarch competition. The Sweet Soca Man is among  four other calypso veterans whose names were announced yesterday for the semifinal round of the Play Whe International Power and Digicel Groovy Soca Monarch competition at the Arima Velodrome on February 9. 

Baron, who for almost 20 years has stayed away from competition, will perform “Irie Party” written by Jason “Fridge” Seecharan of local R&B group H2oPhlo. 

Defending Power Soca Monarch SuperBlue (Austin Lyons) and Johnny King  have also been placed in the groovy category while Crazy (Edwin Ayoung), Kurt Allen and Ronnie McIntosh have earned a spot in the power soca category. The finals of the International Soca Monarch 2014 take place on February 28 at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Port of Spain. Former monarch Bunji Garlin will make a guest appearance on the night.

There are 40 semifinalists in the groovy segment and 36 in the power soca segment. The semifinalists will draw for their order of appearance for the semifinals today from 11 a.m. at Digicel IMAX, One, Woodbrook Place, Port of Spain. 


Digicel International  Groovy  Soca Monarch 


Johnny King (Ainsley King)   — “Doh Over Expose”

 Preedy  ( Akeem Chance) — “Winning Champion“

5 Star Akil (Akil Borneo) — “To Meh Heart“

Amrika (Amrika Martoo) — “My Business“

SuperBlue (Austin Lyons) — “Spanking“

Biggie Irie (Carlton Cordle) — “Need a Rhythm“

Cassi (Cassiano Sylvester) — “Man in Yuh House“

Tallpree (Cecil Wilt Cambridge)  — “Jab Nation“

Farmer Nappy (Darryl Henry) — “Big People Party“

Saucy (Denise Belfon) — “Chuku Chuku“

Destra Garcia — “First Time“

Lyrikal (Devon Martin) —  “Conquer Meh“

Devon Matthews — “Greedy“

 Blaxx  (Dexter Stewart) — “Fetting Away“

Erphan Alves  — “Contagious“

Skinny Fabulous  (Gamal Doyle)—  “Behaving the Worst“

Jahmoun (Jahmoun Mendoza) — “Party Non Stop“

 J Angel  (Jenelle De Leon)— “Nah Leaving“

 Jo Jo (Joanna Hutton) — “Shake Dat“

 Mr Famous  (Junior Noel) — “Play More Local“

 K-Rich  (Kenneth Richards) —“Go Down“

Kerwin Du Bois  — “Too Real“

Kurt Allen — “Mountain“

Mr Renzo  (Lawrence Adams) — “Take Control“

Nadia Batson — “Bad Influence“

Tasha  (Natasha Benjamin) — “Keep Them Moving“

Olatunji Yearwood — “Wining Good“

Patrice Roberts —  “Doh Rough Meh“

 Ravi B (Ravi Bissambhar) — “Bread“

Ricardo Drue — “Socaholic“

 Benji  (Rodney Le Blanc) — “Lick It In“

 Chucky (Rodrick Gordon) — “Blazing“

Rossi Gray (RKG)  — “Multipumpin“

Santeney (Santeney Rampersad) — “In De Mood“

Shal Marshall — “Feel 2 Wuk“

M1 aka Menace  (Sherwin Jeremiah  ) — “Big People Thing“

Lil Bitts (Shivonne Churche )  — “Roll It“

Syo (Simon Delph) —   “In De Air“

Timothy Watkins (The Baron) “Irie Party“

Yolande Nedd (Fya Empress)  — “Ah Ketch It“


Play Whe  International Power 

Soca Monarch  semifinalists

Miss Alysha (Alysha Alleyne)  — “On De Truck“ 

Ann J (Angela Giustini) — “We Love Carnival“

Anslem Douglas — “Broughtupcy“

Candy Hoyte — “Paradise“

CC (Crystal Charles) — “Party Behind Meh“

Destra Garcia — “Mash Up“

Lyrikal (Devon Martin)  — “Lockdown“ 

Prophet Benjamin (Devon Samuel) — “That Seamstress“

Devon Moses (Moses) — “We Want More“

Devon Matthews — “Level It“

Blaxx (Dexter Stewart)  — “Brok It Up“

Crazy (Edwin Ayoung) — “Original Madman“

Erphaan Alves — “Hearing Ah Talk“

Skinny Fabulous (Gamal Doyle) — “The General

Hashim Lewis (Hashim) — “Si’ttin“

Snakey (Heaven Charles)  — “The Dhoti Song“

Mr Killa ( Hollice Mapp) — “Rolly Polly“

Boyzie (Jalon Olive) — “Mas Everywhere“

J Angel (Jenelle De Leon) — “Do Wah Yuh Want“

Jadee (Jerry Dane Sellier) — “Rollin“

Mr Famous (Junior Noel)  — “Hay Lay Lay“ 

KI (Kris Persad) — “We Mad“

Kurt Allen — “Mountain“

Swappi (Marvin Davis) — “Run To The Front“

Nadia Batson — “Rated R“

Iwer George — “Mama Oye“

Sekon Sta (Nesta Boxhill) — “Bag Ah Vibes“

S O King (Oneil King) — “Pace“

Patrice Roberts — “Fetting De MOst“

Benjai (Rodney Le Blanc) — “Come Out To Play“ 

Chucky (Rodrick Gordon) — “Gyal to De Front“

Ronnie McIntosh — “We Bringing It“

Sherrard Church — “Tzik“

Shradah McIntyre (Shradah) — “Bad Dis Carnival“

Shurwayne Winchester — “Raise it Up“

Timel Boy Boy Rivas — “De Soca Spirit In Meh“