Sunday, December 17, 2017

Chutney Soca Monarch gets green light

The producers of the 2014 Chutney Soca Monarch have announced that the event would go on as planned.

Southex Promotions stated yesterday that the decision was taken following a meeting with Minister of Arts and Multiculturalism, Dr Lincoln Douglas.

“The producers have been assured of the continued support from the Ministry of Arts and Multiculturalism for the 2014 Chutney Soca Monarch,” a release stated.

The annual competition, which has become one of the main events in the Carnival calendar, will now move forward with its plans.

Southex chief executive officer, George Singh, said last week the competition was in jeopardy as the Government had failed to deliver on its financial commitments.

Singh said funding for the 2013 competition was not paid in full, resulting in winners receiving only part of their prize money. And he was concerned as funding for the 2014 event was not yet finalised.

The 2013 Chutney Soca Monarch, Raymond Ramnarine, was expected to receive $1 million sponsored by the ministry. He received $800,000.

Singh said he was assured that the matter would be resolved soon.

The semifinal round of the competition will be held at Rienzi Complex, Couva, on February 1, while the grand finals would take place at Skinner Park, San Fernando, on February 15.

Soca entertainers, including former soca monarch, Shurwayne Winchester, Olatunji and Blaxx have entered the competition for first time.

The 43 semifinalists include:

Reshma Ramlal, Amit Sooknanan, Blaxx, Nadia Madoo, Heaven Charles, Dave Lall, KI Persad, Jerry Singh, Shurwayne Winchester, Nishard Mehru, Rick Ramoutar, Shiva Lakhan, Ravi B, Vesdesh Sookoo, Omardath Maraj, Prophet Benjamin, Kennth Supersad, Marisa Deodath, Hemlata Dindial, Neeshad Sultan, Sally Sagram, Daddy Chinee, Anand Yankaran, Sara Ramkalie, Terry Gajraj, Adesh Samaroo, Veekash Sahadeo, Hunter, Kavita Maharaj, Natalia Wohler, Edward Ramdass, Crazy, Soca Elvis, SW Storm, Junjeezy, Rikki Jai, Marva Mackenzie, Olatunji, Saleem Beharry, Moses Charles, Nisha Ramkissoon, Nathaniel Jude and Chucky Gordon.