Tuesday, January 23, 2018

Clean sweep for Mitchell's NNP

l st George's

The main opposition New National Party (NNP) was on the verge of repeating the results of the 1999 general election when it won all 15 seats.

Preliminary results issued here up to press time last night showed that the NNP, headed by former prime minister Dr Keith Mitchell, had won 12 seats, including that of several government ministers such as Finance Minister Nazim Burke, Social Development Minster Sylvester Quarless and Works Minister Arlene Walker.

Prime Minister Tillman Thomas, who was leading the ruling National Democratic Congress (NDC), was facing an uphill struggle to win his St Patrick East seat against relative newcomer Clifton Paul of the NNP.

Earlier, Mitchell told the Caribbean Media Corporation (CMC) that figures indicated that his party, which was trounced 11-4 in the 2008 general election, would most likely win all seats, repeating a feat it achieved in 1999.

"It is clear that we have won the election, it is very likely we will win all the seats," he told CMC.

Political scientist and pollster Peter Wickham, appearing on television here analysing the elections, said that it would be a "phenomenal achievement" if the NDC would be able to retain the government. —cmc