Jack's Resignation Letter

...quits as Minister, Chairman, and MP

By Multimedia Desk

JACK Warner honoured his promise made at a public meeting at Pierre Road, Felicity last night and today resigned his last post - that of Member of Parliament for Chaguanas West.

Last Sunday, his resignation as National Security Minister was accepted by Prime Ministe Kamla Persad-Bissessar and the following day he resigned as chairman of the United National Congress.

Today's resignation letter was addressed to Speaker of the House Wade mark, and copied to Persad-Bissessar, who is in Canada, and Leader of Government Business Dr Roodal Moonilal.

A copy of the letter was emailed to media organisations, with the request that its contents not be released before 3.p.m. Warner is spending his last day in Parliament today, where he is expected to respond to a private motion filed by Opposition Leader Dr Keith Rowley who is raising issues related to Warner's conduct in government and while a member of FIFA.

The following is the text of the letter -

Mr.Jack Austin Warner, MP
Republic of Trinidad and Tobago

April 26, 2013
The Honourable Wade Mark
Speaker of the House of Representatives Office of the Parliament
Levels G-7
Tower D
International Waterfront Centre
1A Wrightson Road
Port of Spain

Honourable Speaker of the House,

I hereby inform you of my decision to resign as the Member of Parliament for the Chaguanas West Constituency effective midnight tonight Friday April 26, 2013.
I enjoyed my stint in the Parliament under you because at all times, you demonstrated fairness and impartiality in your judgments thereby maintaining the hallowed sanctity of the House.
In this regard I reiterate that from midnight tonight Friday April 26, 2013, my resignation as the Member of Parliament for the Chaguanas West Constituency will be in effect.

Jack Warner

Cc : Ms Kamla Persad-Bissessar, Prime Minister of Trinidad & Tobago
Cc : Dr Roodal Moonilal, Leader of Government Business in the House
Cc : Ms Jacqueline Sampson- Meiguel, Clerk of the House

(Richard Charan - Multimedia Editor)

Let us know your thoughts
This content requires the latest Adobe Flash Player and a browser with JavaScript enabled. Click here for a free download of the latest Adobe Flash Player.

Express Poll

Do you think the causeway from Chaguaramas to Port of Spain will be worth the cost to taxpayers?

  • Yes
  • No


More Weather