Jokhoo resigns as Integrity Commission member

By Multimedia Desk

The Office of the President disclosed today that Integrity Commission Member Seunarine Jokhoo has resigned as a member of the Integrity Commission. The following is the statement from the Office of the President -

His Excellency Mr. Anthony Thomas Aquinas Carmona, ORTT, SC, President of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago, today (April 1st, 2014) received through Mr. Kenneth Gordon, the Chairman of the Integrity Commission, a letter of resignation from Mr. Seunarine Jokhoo, a member of the Integrity Commission (IC) in accordance with Section 6 of the Integrity in Public Life Act.

Mr. Jokhoo, a chartered accountant, in his letter dated March 11, 2014, advised that he was unable to continue as a Member of the Integrity Commission because of urgent family commitments. He thus elected to tender his resignation from the Integrity Commission.

His Excellency The President has accepted Mr. Jokhoo’s resignation, thanking him for his service to the nation, and has begun searching for an appropriate replacement.

An appointment will be made by His Excellency The President after consultation with the Prime Minister and the Leader of the Opposition. At this time, both office holders are out of the country.
Let us know your thoughts
This content requires the latest Adobe Flash Player and a browser with JavaScript enabled. Click here for a free download of the latest Adobe Flash Player.

Express Poll

Do you believe Vernella Alleyne- Toppin’s apology for her statement in Parliament that Dr Keith Rowley is a child of rape is genuine?

  • Yes
  • No


More Weather