Friday, February 23, 2018

Law body names committee to consider SC appointments

The Law Association has appointed an 11-member committee to consider the appointment of Senior Counsel (SC).

The appointments were made yesterday afternoon following the passing of a resolution.

The Committee appointed by the Association includes its President, Dana Seetahal SC, Karl Hudson-Phillips QC, Alvin Fitzpatrick SC, attorneys Patricia Dindyal, Lennox Sankersingh, Lesley-Ann Lucky-Samaroo, Daniel Khan, Frank Seepersad of the Assembly of Southern Lawyers, Joy Phillip of the Tobago Bar Association, Rajiv Persad of the Criminal Bar Association and State attorney George Busby.

The appointmnet of the committee comes following a furore that erupted shortly after the awarding of silk to Chief Justice Ivor Archie, Justice of Appeal Wendell Kangaloo and 14 others by President George Maxwell Richards on December 30 last year.

Two weeks after the appointments were made, both Archie and Kangaloo returned their instruments, following criticisms from senior members of the legal fraternity.

Following this, Attorney General Anand Ramlogan instructed the Law Reform Commission to prepare a Green Paper for public consultation on the SC issue.