Patrick Manning


Manning, Panday to get highest award

Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar last night announced the country’s highest award, the Order of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago (OTT), is to be bestowed upon two former prime ministers, Patrick Manning and Basdeo Panday, on Independence Day, August 31, at the annual National Awards ceremony.

Persad-Bissessar made the announcement at an Independence reception at the Diplomatic Centre, St Ann’s. They will receive their awards on the occasion of the nation’s 52nd anniversary of Independence.

Manning, who is the Member of Parliament for San Fernando East, was the fourth prime minister of Trinidad and Tobago, from December 17, 1991, to November 9, 1995, and again from December 24, 2001, to May 26, 2010. He was also political leader of the People’s National Movement (PNM) from 1987 to 2010.

Panday was first elected to Parliament in 1976 as the member for Couva North. He was the former chairman and party leader of the United National Congress (UNC). He was the fifth prime minister of Trinidad and Tobago, from November 10, 1995, to December 23, 2001.
Let us know your thoughts
This content requires the latest Adobe Flash Player and a browser with JavaScript enabled. Click here for a free download of the latest Adobe Flash Player.

Express Poll

Do you think that the HDC live random lottery draw is a fair method of house distribution?

  • Yes
  • No


More Weather