Thursday, February 22, 2018

National Track & Field Championships LIVE UPDATES

Great day for sprinting



Kwame Laurence


RECORD RUN: Richard "Torpedo" Thompson poses next to the clock following his 9.85 seconds national record run in last year's National Championship men's 100 metres final. Thompson chases a beaver-trick of victories today.

Kwame Laurence

Click F5 to refresh

Tune in tomorrow for more Live Updates

Good night. And thank you for joining us for Live Updates from the National Track and Field Championships. It was a great day for sprinting at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Keston Bledman and Kelly-Ann Baptiste winning the 100 metres titles with impressive runs.

Join us at three p.m. tomorrow for Day 2 updates.

Record throw for Alexander

There was a Championship record for Annie Alexander. She won her eighth women’s discus title with a big 56.54 metres throw.

Bledman wins in 9.86!

Keston Bledman won his first senior national sprint title in style, bolting to victory in 9.86 seconds to finish ahead of Richard "Torpedo" Thompson (9.96) and Rondel Sorrillo (10.03).

Baptiste whips 'em

Kelly-Ann Baptiste whipped the Trinidad and Tobago young brigade in the women's 100 metres final.

The World Championship bronze medallist separated herself from the field early in the race, and was in full control by the halfway stage. Baptiste went on to win in 10.98 seconds, finishing well ahead of Semoy Hackett, the silver medallist in 11.14, Kai Selvon (11.24) and Michelle-Lee Ahye (11.29).

Kyron Blaise won the men's long jump with a 7.63 metres leap.

McKnight in record run

Sparkle McKnight produced a superb run in the women’s 400m final, winning in a Championship record 52.44 seconds, from Shawna Fermin (53.39) and Alena Brooks (54.27).

Lalonde claims 400 title

A strong finish from Lalonde Gordon earned the 23-year-old athlete gold in the men's 400 metres. Gordon clocked 45.40 seconds to grab the title from Renny Quow, the 2011 champion finishing second in 45.60. Third spot went to 19-year-old Deon Lendore (45.74).

Bledman sounds warning

Keston Bledman sounded a warning ahead of the men's 100 metres final with a speedy victory in the second semifinal. Bledman clocked 10.04 seconds to beat Rondel Sorrillo (10.11) and Marc Burns (10.17) into second and third, respectively.

Reigning champion Richard "Torpedo" Thompson was also impressive, topping the third and final heat in 10.13.

The opening heat was won by Emmanuel Callender in 10.18. Aaron Armstrong finished second in 10.21, ahead of St Kitts and Nevis sprinter Jason Rogers (10.24). Darrel Brown clocked 10.25 to cop fourth spot.

Baptiste cruises into women's 100 final

Kelly-Ann Baptiste won the second of three semifinal heats in 11.37 seconds to cruise into the women's 100 metres final. Semoy Hackett won heat one in 11.32 to lead all qualifiers. And Magnolia Howell clocked 11.82 to top heat three. Michelle-Lee Ahye (11.37) and Kai Selvon (11.45) are also through to the championship race.

American Carl Stones won the men's 3,000 metres steeplechase in 8:51.30.

Stewart, George triumph

Akeem Stewart won the men's shot put with a 16.95 metres throw. And Geraldine George produced a 40.62m effort for gold in the women's javelin.

Ayanna wins number seven

Ayanna Alexander captured her seventh straight women's triple jump title with a 14.04 metres effort, a new Championship record. Carisa Leacock (12.18m) finished second.

Jeanelle Ovid cleared the bar at 1.65m to win the women's high jump.

Pilar, Nero top metric mile fields

Pilar McShine and Gavyn Nero won the 1500 metres events.

McShine got home first in the women's race in four minutes, 24.91 seconds. Dawnel Collymore (4:53.86) was second.

In the men's metric mile, Nero was a comfortable winner in 3:55.16, from Cleveland Thomas (3:56.14) and Matthew Hagley (3:56.78). 

Davis first in 110 hurdles

Wayne Davis II emerged as men's 110 metres hurdles champion. The American-born T&T athlete got to the line in 13.62 seconds, to finish ahead of Durell Busby (13.81) and Mikel Thomas (13.99).

Lucas wins 100 hurdles

Good afternoon and welcome to our live coverage of the NAAA Sagicor/NGC National Open Track and Field Championships.

The second session on day one is under way, and the first champion on the track has been crowned. Josanne Lucas stormed to victory in the women's 100 metres hurdles, stopping the clock at 13.07 seconds to beat Aleesha Barber (13.30) into second spot.

In the morning session, Ashlee Smith won the women's hammer throw with a 45.48 metres effort, while Sukraj Roodal threw 14.48m to top the men's hammer throw field.