Wednesday, January 17, 2018

Seven ministers in Kamla delegation

Seven Government ministers have accompanied Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar on her State visit to India. The ministers, who are part of a 50-plus official delegation to the subcontinent, are:

Trade and Industry Minister Stephen Cadiz

Foreign Affairs and Communications Minster Dr Suruj Rambachan

Science Technology and Tertiary Education Minister Fazal Karim

Transport Minister Devant Maharaj

Food Production, Land and Marine Affairs Minister Vasant Bharath

Energy Minister Kevin Ramnarine

Public Utilities Minister Emmanuel George

Other notable members of the official delegation are Larry Howai, chairman of the National Gas Company (NGC); Neil Gosine, chairman of National Petroleum (NP); Hugh Leong Poi, chairman of Lake Asphalt; Curtis Manchoon, chairman of the University of Trinidad and Tobago (UTT); Chandar Gupta Seepersad, chairman of the Youth Training and Employment Partnership Programme (YTEPP); Jwala Rambarran, chairman of the National Institute of Higher Education, Research, Science and Technology (Niherst); and Atiba Phillips, chairman of

The delegation, which left Trinidad on Monday, is expected to return on January 16.

Finance Minister Winston Dookeran will act as Prime Minister in the interim.

Planning and Economy Minister Dr Bhoe Tewarie, Housing and Environment Minister Dr Roodal Moonilal, Education Minister Dr Tim Gopeesingh, Local Government Minster Chandresh Sharma, Public Administration Minster Carolyn Seepersad-Bachan, Labour Minister Errol McLeod and Works and Infrastructure Minister Jack Warner will act for Cadiz, Rambachan, Karim, Maharaj, Bharath, Ramnarine and George, respectively.

National Security Minister John Sandy is out of the country on private business. In his absence, Justice Minister Herbert Volney has been appointed to act in the position. Sandy is due to return to T&T next week Wednesday.

Also accompanying the India delegation are journalists Anna Ramdass of the Express, Kristal Ragubarsingh from Radio Jagriti and the CNMG Group team, and Joanne Briggs from the Newsday.