Friday, December 15, 2017

SuperBlue confident sing at position 10 in Soca Monarch semis on Sunday


'GOOD CHANCE': Veteran soca artiste SuperBlue is flanked by two NLCB promotional models after he pulled position #10 in the draw for the NLCB Power Soca Monarch semi-finals yesterday at One Woodbrook Place, Woodbrook. The semis will be held on Sunday at the Arima Velodrome. —Photo: MICHEAL BRUCE

(BI) Feedloader User

Five-time International Soca Monarch SuperBlue will perform in position number ten in the semi-final of the 2013 edition of the competition on Sunday at the Arima Velodrome.

Although he was away from the Soca Monarch stage for more than a decade, SuperBlue believes his chances for a place in the finals are good.

Speaking with the media after the drawing for positions, SuperBlue shared his thoughts on soca and where it stands today.

"I think it is beautiful, I see some artistes and how they perform and how they have applied technology to their performance. I see that we are getting there," he said.

SuperBlue's son-in-law, four-time Power Soca Monarch Bunji Garlin, will compete at number 15 in the Groovy category while his wife, Fay Ann Lyons-Alvarez , will perform in position 20 in the Power category.

The couple have opted to compete in one category each, while their friend Iwer George will be performing in both, performing in the first position in the Power category and at number 24 in the Groovy category.

The semi-finalists drew for positions yesterday at the IMAX Theatre, One Woodbrook Place, Port of Spain. While some semi-finalists were happy with their position, others had to settle for their second and third choices. Denise Belfon was thrilled to perform in position number five, a number she said was chosen by her daughter. Sean Daniel was the last person to draw the only number left remaining, number one, the position he will sing in the Groovy category.

Public relations consultant at the Caribbean Prestige Foundation Wendy Fitzwilliam announced the cache of prizes for the International Power Soca Monarch, Groovy Soca Monarch and Schools Soca Monarch competitions — will total about $8 million. Fitzwilliam noted that this year the level of competition is very high and she was glad she would not be one of the judges who will have the difficult task of selecting who goes through to the finals.

One of the youngest to ever compete, Timel Rivas, also known as "Boy Boy", will perform in position number three in the Power category. Though a newcomer in the senior competition, Rivas is no stranger to the Soca Monarch stage, having performed at the National Schools Soca Monarch and National Junior Calypso Monarch competitions.

Sharing his thoughts on going into the competition, Rivas said, "I feel great that I got into the semi-finals. It gives me a better opportunity to show people how I perform and the great talent that I have."

"I feel normal because I am getting a chance to compete with the elders and they have create in me a better idea when I go out to perform — as well as have provided a platform to show my talent," Rivas added.

All competitors heading into the semi-final round on Sunday were scored in the preliminary round. The person/s who scored the highest out of the preliminary were allowed the opportunity to choose their spot.

The theme of Soca Monarch this year is "The People's Event". The person who submits the most text votes will win a cash prize of $10,000, while the artiste with the most votes will receive a cash prize of $25,000.

This is the order in which contestants will perform in on Sunday:

In each competition, 30 competitors will try to secure their places in the finals on Fantastic Friday.

International Power Soca Monarch

1. Iwer George

2. Tallpree

3. Timel Rivas

4. Prophet Benjamin

5. Shurwayne Winchester

6. MX Prime (formerly Maximus Dan)

7. Fya Empress

8. Nadia Batson

9. Skinny Fabulous

10. SuperBlue

11. Lil Rick

12. Peter Levels

13. Trevor Gore

14. Anslem Douglas

15. Swappi

16. Megan Walrond

17. JW & Blaze

18. Mikee

19. Lil Bitts

20. Fay Ann Lyons-Alvarez

21. Olatunji Yearwood

22. Devon Matthews

23. Chris Garcia

24. Benjai

25. I-Stan Scott

26. Destra Garcia

27. Squeezy Rankin

28. Blaxx

29. Erphaan Alves

30. Ronald Wickham

International Groovy Soca Monarch

1. Sean Daniel

2. Santeney Rampersad

3. Ravi B

4. Michelle Xavier

5. Denise Belfon

6. Nesta Boxill

7. Farmer Nappy

8. Patrice Roberts

9. K. Rich

10. El Jay

11. Sheldon Bullen

12. Kerwin Du Bois

13. Chucky Gordon

14. Mr Renzo Music

15. Bunji Garlin

16. J Angel

17. 5 Star Akil

18. Drupatee

19. Shurwayne Winchester

20. Nadia Batson

21. Supa Jigga TC

22. Destra Garcia

23. Shal Marshall

24. Iwer George

25. Blaxx

26. Denyse Plummer

27. Benjai

28. Lyrikal

29. Yankey Boy

30. Charli Griffith