Sunday, February 18, 2018

TOP names 12


(BI) Feedloader User

The wait is over as the Tobago Organisation of the People (TOP) announced its list of candidates for the January 2013 Tobago House of Assembly (THA) election.

The announcement was made yesterday at TOP Headquarters in Scarborough, Tobago.

TOP leader Ashworth Jack, who will contest the Providence/Mason Hall/Moriah seat, said the team represents what they consider to be the future of the development of Tobago, in terms of the political arena.

The 12 candidates are:

Scarborough/Calder Hall–Anthony Arnold

Belle Garden/Goodwood–Steve Jack

Canaan/Bon Accord–Rolly Quaccoo

Plymouth/Golden Lane–Certica Williams-Orr

Bethel/Mt. Irvine–Sherry Ann Rollocks-Hackett

Lambeau/Signal Hill–Pastor Chester Robinson Alleyne

Roxborough/Delaford–Anslem Richards

Parlatuvier/Lans Fourmi/Speyside– Fitzherbert Taylor

Black Rock/Whim/Spring Garden– Theodil McPherson

Buccoo/Mt. Pleasant–Richard Alfred

Providence/Mason Hall/Moriah– Ashworth Jack

Bacolet/Mt St George–Gladstone Solomon

Jack said the THA election means an end to political victimisation of TOP supporters by the PNM.

He claimed that a number of URP, CEPEP and CERT employees have been threatened that they will lose their jobs if they vote TOP.

"What this election for us will be is about performance of the THA, or lack of it, with the $20-odd billion at their disposal, and visioning for a new future," Jack said.

Every election is critical and the 2013 THA election is no different, he stressed. He said he does not feel threatened by the PNM's slate of candidates, adding that the PNM should be afraid of losing the election and TOP has brought important issues in focus to the population.

"It's as a result of the TOP getting the issue of constitutional reform back on the front burner, so this then, for the PNM, is about validating their non performance."

Chairman of the Movement for Democracy and Development Dr. Hughvon Des Vignes said his party will decide their slate of candidates after a meeting on Friday, while Platform of Truth leader Hochoy Charles could not be reached for comment on his selection.