Monday, January 22, 2018

UWI votes in new Guild

A new Guild of Students executive has finally been voted in at The University of the West Indies, St Augustine.

By-elections were held on Wednesday after it was found that several candidates in the April 3 elections were not eligible to run for positions on the guild because they were not fully registered.

In a brief telephone interview on Thursday, the returning officer for the 2014 Guild elections, Prunella Mungroo, who gave the preliminary results, told the Express that the elections went off without a hitch.

“The elections went very smoothly. There was no opposition to anything. We had a steady flow of voters throughout the course of the day. We opened at 9 a.m. and closed at 9 p.m.” 

The new Guild president is Matthew Peters of the Faculty of Humanities and Education, the secretary is Laura-lee Lynch of the Faculty of Medical Sciences. The three others voted to the Guild on Wednesday were the Postgraduate representative—Traverse Banton from the Faculty of Social Sciences, Faculty of Law representative Samuel Dennis and Social Sciences representative Adeola Young.

Full Guild Council



Makesi Rennie Peters, vice-president

Zoe Howard, treasurer

Brandon N James, Part-time and Evening representative

Akil Williams, Publications Committee chairperson

Akeem Joseph, National Affairs Committee chairperson

Kyle Cassimy, Student Activity Committee chairperson

Clarissa Violenus, International Affairs Committee chairperson

Samuel Williams, Games Committee chairperson

Odessa E. Fortune, Faculty of Food and Agriculture

Nikoli Edwards, Faculty of Humanities and Education

Derron Pereira, Faculty of Science and Technology

Shalini Persad, president, Engineering Students Society



Matthew Peters, president

Laura-lee Lynch, secretary

Traverse Banton, Postgraduate representative

Adeola Young, Faculty of Social 

Sciences representative

Samuel Dennis, Faculty of Law representative