Phoenix trounce Technocrats in Women’s League

Phoenix Women Cricket Club put a whipping on Technocrats in the feature match of Sunday’s Trinidad and Tobago Women’s Cricket Association (TTWCA) Premiership 40-over tournament, cruising to a seven-wicket win.
Phoenix needed just 27.1 overs to dismiss Technocrats for a paltry 92, and then eased to 94 for three on the back of Britney Cooper’s unbeaten, even 50. Karishma Ramdeo was the next best Phoenix bat with 15.
When Technocrats batted, only T&T bat Stacy Ann-King offered any resistance, while Leandra Ramdeen and Nicole Sterling took three wickets each, and Cooper, two.
MAAAD Rangers were also severely thumped by Cricket Lovers, who raced to 60 for three in ten overs after dismissing Rangers for 59. And Amanda Samaroo took Player of the Round honours topscoring with 60 and taking three wickets to help defending champs Moosai Ladies whip Spice Girls by 139 runs.
In the Championship Division’s T20 tournament, Hibiscus Ladies won both their Sunday matches at UWI SPEC. first they beat South West United by 28 runs in a match reduced to 15 overs, then they skittled hosts UWI for 60, and chased their target in 12 overs.

Sunday’s results:

Premiership (40 overs)
At Pinto Road Recreation Ground, Santa Rosa
MAAAD Rangers 59 all out in 20 overs (Alisa Mohammed 23; Amy Holder 3/4) vs Cricket Lovers 60/3 in 10 overs (Desiree Simon 27 not out; Shanta Khan 1/8)
Cricket Lovers won by seven wickets

At Caldrac Club Ground, California
Technocrats 92 all out in 27.1 overs (Stacy Ann-King 37; Leandra Ramdeen 3/7, Nicole Sterling 3/10, Britney Cooper 2/18) vs Phoenix Women 94/3 in 24.4 overs (Britney Cooper 50 no, Karishma Ramdeo 15; Gaitri Seetahal 1/7)
Phoenix Women won by seven wickets

At El Dorado West Secondary
Moosai Ladies 189/9 in 40 overs (Amanda Samaroo 60, Kirbynia Alexander 47, Jerveena Pollucksingh 27; Alice Collins 4/35, Stephanie Ramcharan 2/43) vs Spice Girls 50 all out in 17.5 overs (Kelly Clarke 9, Syville Bhola 9; Leann Kirby 3/25, Amanda Samaroo 3/12)
Moosai Ladies won by 139 runs

Championship Division (T20; both at UWI)
Hibiscus Ladies 96/3 in 15 overs (Rosalie Dolabaille 39 n.o.) vs South West United 68/7 in 15 overs (Landa Pardassie 15; Shanice Pascall 1/8, Rosalie Dolabaille 1/7)
Hibiscus Ladies won by 28 runs

UWI 60 all out in 15.3 overs (Caneisha Isaac 16, Anatasia Herbert 17; Shanel Yearwood 3/9) vs
Hibiscus Ladies 61/5 in 12 overs (Leah Collette 23, Caneisha Isaac 3/17)
Hibiscus Ladies won by five wickets
Let us know your thoughts
This content requires the latest Adobe Flash Player and a browser with JavaScript enabled. Click here for a free download of the latest Adobe Flash Player.

Express Poll

Do you think the causeway from Chaguaramas to Port of Spain will be worth the cost to taxpayers?

  • Yes
  • No

Sports Headlines


More Weather