Sunday, February 25, 2018

ASJA Markaz take TML windball


CHAMPIONS: ASJA Markaz windball team

Mark Fraser

ASJA Markaz retained their Trinidad Muslim League (TML) Windball Cricket Open Division title with a 15-run win over Diego Martin Jamaat in the 2013 final against TML Centre in St Joseph on June 8.

The defending champ posted a competitive 92 for six off their 12 overs, with skipper Aamir Khan hitting 16 and Travis Karim chipping in with 15 and Faaiq Mohammed adding 14.

For Diego Martin, Qadeer Mohammed and Randy Baliram each snatched two wickets. At one stage, Diego Martin Jamaat looked like they were on course for victory with Fareed Joey Hosein hitting 25 before he was bowled by Faleel Ali with the score on 61 for three.

ASJA Markaz eventually dismissed Diego Martin for 77 in 11.3 overs to retain their crown and take home the $7,500 prize, with skipper Aamir Khan’s two for 12 making him Man of the Match.

ASJA Markaz Youth were also Fun Division winners.