Friday, December 15, 2017

Ahye a winner at NAAA awards


Michelle-Lee Ahye

Donstan Bonn

National senior female sprinter, Michelle-Lee Ahye, featured at the National Association of Athletics Administrations’ (NAAA) Annual Awards 2013 when she copped the “Women Open Track” award last Saturday at Capital Plaza in Port of Spain.

In May, Ahye was fifth at the 2013 IAAF World Challenge Beijing100 metres event in a time of 11.36 seconds, behind Nigeria’s Blessing Okagbare before she followed up a month later with a personal best 11.06 at National Open Track and Field Championship at the Hasely Crawford Stadium in Port of Spain, where she clinched silver behind Kelly Ann Baptiste. 

She closed her season with a fifth place in the women’s 100m semi-finals at the World Championships in Russia. 

Among the junior athletes, Hezekiel Romeo of Rebirth and Burnley’s Shaunna Downey took the Boys and Girls U-20 Field awards, respectively.

Romeo earned Carifta gold with a throw of 18.66 metres in the shot put while Downey threw the javelin 41.95m for Carifta bronze.

Kadeem Campbell (Memphis), Jeminise Parris (Memphis), Chelsea James (Falcons) and Andwuelle Wright were standouts at the Under-17 level, with Campbell and Parris copping the Boys and Girls Track awards while Wright and James notched the Boys and Girls Field awards, respectively.

Campbell won the sprint double at last year’s Southern Games along with a silver medal run in the Hampton Games 400m. 

Parris was a bit more impressive with Carifta gold in the 300m hurdles in 43.24 seconds; Carifta bronze in the 100m hurdles in 14.64; double gold in the 100m and 400m hurdles events at Junior Championships; and a semi-finalist in the 100m hurdles at the World Youth Championships in the Ukraine last July.

Wright won Carifta gold in the long jump with a best effort of 7.29m and was also golden at the Junior Championship, while James set a Carifta record with her golden throw of 14.48m in the shot put.

Age award categories: 

Men Open Track – Jehue Gordon (Memphis Pioneers)

Women Open Track – Michelle-Lee Ahye (Rebirth)

Men Open Field – Chris Hercules (Memphis Pioneers)

Women Open Field – Cleopatra Borel (Rebirth)

Boys U-20 Track – Mark London (Zenith)

Girls U-20 Track – Dominique Williams – (Neon Trackers)

Boys U-20 Field – Hezekiel Romeo (Rebirth)

Girls U-20 Field – Shuanna Downey (Burnley)

Boys U-17 Track – Kadeem Campbell (Memphis)

Girls U-17 Track – Jeminise Parris (Memphis)

Boys U-17 Field – Andwuelle Wright

Girls U-17 Field – Chelsea James (Falcons)

Boys U-15 Track – Adel Colthrust (Southern Athletics)

Girls U-15 Track – Jenea Spinks (Neon Trackers)

Boys U-13 – Timothy Frederick (Point Fortin Civic Jets)

Girls U-13 – Shaniece Francois (Neon Trackers)

Boys U-11 – Devin Augustine (Point Fortin Civic Jets)

Girls U-11 – Shaniqua Bascombe (Cougars)

Boys U-9 – Elijah John (Cougars)

Girls U-9 – Kiana Llewellyn (Cougars)

Road Running (Male) – Richard Jones 

Road Running (Female) – Tonya Nero

Cross Country (Male) – Kendis Bullard

Cross Country (Female) – Jenelle Nedd

Champion Clubs:

Juvenile – Cougars

Junior – Memphis 

Senior – Memphis