Tuesday, January 16, 2018

Aranjuez bid for another T20 upset


GOOD FORM: QPCC skipper Justin Guillen

Mark Fraser

The final preliminary round of the Premier Division Twenty20 tournament bowls off today from 2.30 p.m. with seven teams battling for the final four quarterfinal spots.

In Group A, defending champions Queen’s Park Cricket Club (QPCC) and Merry Boys have already secured berths in the last eight, with the other four teams_Moosai Sports, Seenath’s Auto Bamboo Sports, Hafeez Karamath Limited Aranjuez Sports and Alescon Comets_all fighting for the remaining two qualifying spots.

Their fates will be decided today.

HKL Aranjuez have upset Alescon Comets and Moosai Sports to stay in contention, but they will have to overcome the defending champs Queen’s Park at Aranjuez Ground today to secure their place in the final eight.

Jonathan Cabralis, Kellon Carmichael, skipper Vikash Mohan and Aaron Ragoonath have all been among the runs for the newly promoted club, who will be hoping for another upset win.

For the Parkites, they will be looking to their skipper Justin Guillen, who scored two half centuries so for in the competition, to lead them to another win. 

Moosai also have a tricky assignment, against Merry Boys at Honeymoon Park, El Dorado, while Comets host Bamboo at Pierre Road, Charlieville.

In Group B, PowerGen have already sealed their place in the quarters, and should be joined by First Citizens Clarke Road United, who are likely to get four points from their encounter against Wanderers, who are expected to default today’s match.

The other clubs in Group B, with the exception of Wanderers, who defaulted all their games so far, still have a chance of making it to the next round. 

F&E Diamond United, Esmeralda Sports and Caldrac Club will be fighting for the 

remaining two spots, with Caldrac taking on Diamond at Gilbert Park 

Today’s Fixtures

(All matches start at 2.30 p.m.)


Group A

Alescon Comets vs Seenath’s Auto Bamboo Sports, 

Pierre Road

Hafeez Karamath Limited Aranjuez vs QPCC, Aranjuez

Moosai Sports vs Merry Boys, Honeymoon Park


Group B

Caldrac Club vs F&E Diamond United, Gilbert Park

Esmeralda Sports vs PowerGen, Esmeralda 

Recreation Ground

First Citizens Clarke Road United vs Wanderers, Wilson Road Recreation Ground




Group A

P W L T Pts

QPCC 4 3 0 1 14

Merry Boys 4 3 1 0 12

Aranjuez 4 2 2 0 8

Moosai 4 1 2 1 6

Bamboo 4 1 3 0

Comets 4 1 3 0 4

*NB: T=Tie


Group B

P W L Abd Pts

PowerGen 4 3 0 1 13

Caldrac Club 4 2 1 1 9

Clarke Road 4 2 1 1 9

Diamond Utd 4 2 2 0 8

Esmeralda 4 1 2 1 5

Wanderers 4 0 4 0 0

*NB: Abd=Abandoned