Friday, February 23, 2018

Badree ‘delighted’ to make T20 best XI

Sammy, Dottin, Taylor also earn ICC picks


TOP DRAW: West Indies leg-spinner Samuel Badree, centre, celebrates with captain Darren Sammy, left, and teammate Andre Russell the dismissal of Pakistan batsman Shoaib Malik during their ICC Twenty20 Cricket World Cup match in Dhaka, Bangladesh last Tuesday which the Caribbean side won by 84 runs. Badree and Sammy were yesterday named to the ICC’s men’s team of the tournament. —Photo: AP

Mark Fraser

West Indies may not have retained their World Twenty20 title, but  leg-spinner Samuel Badree still came out a winner at the conclusion of the ICC tournament in Bangladesh on Sunday.

Badree and his captain Darren Sammy were the only two West Indians to earn spots in the team of the tournament which was announced yesterday.

West Indies were beaten by eventual winners Sri Lanka on the Duckworth/Lewis method in the semi-finals, after coming through a “group of death” that included beaten finalists India, Australia and Pakistan. And Badree, who was the Caribbean team’s leading wicket-taker with 11 wickets at a miserly average of 10.27 said his work in the tournament was among his most outstanding in the T20 format.

“I think it is up there with some of my best performances in terms of getting wickets and maintaining  a decent economy rate; for the mere fact I was bowling against some of the best players in the world,” he told the Express yesterday. “We were in the tougher group of the two. It was always going to be difficult. But we did it through grit  and determination.”

Badree, who opened the bowling and regularly got early wickets while maintaining an economy rate of 5.65, said he was “delighted” to have made the World T20  best 11. He added: “I thought I handled the pressure well, especially bowling in the powerplay. I thought myself and (Krishmar) Santokie did quite a good job (trying to keep the runs down and take wickets). We worked well in tandem.”

Santokie, the left-arm seamer got honourable mention from the selection panel headed by ICC match referee, the former Australian batsman David Boon, when he was named as the 12th player.

While Sammy could not lead his team to a successful defence of the title they won in Sri Lanka in 2012, the all-rounder was recognised for his consistent and dynamic batting towards the end of the innings that earned him an average of 101.00 at a strike rate of 224.44. Sammy’s high score of 42 not out against Pakistan helped set up an 84-run win that guaranteed a semi-final spot, while his unbeaten 34 against Australia in the previous match included the two winning sixes in the final over.

Limited overs specialist Badree, overlooked for Trinidad and Tobago’s Regional Super50 campaign in February, said he would still “love to represent my country,” in that format.

On the women’s side, the West Indies also secured two selections in batters Stafanie Taylor and Deandra Dottin.

Speaking of the selection of the men’s team, which included four players from India but only winning captain Lasith Malinga from Sri Lanka, Boon said in a statement: “It was a very difficult task for the panel to pick a team of 11 from the exciting players who featured in this tournament.

“As the selection criteria for the team of the tournament are the performances of players in the conditions during the ICC World Twenty20 2014, some of the best players in world cricket had to be left out of the team.

“Bowlers, in particular, performed strongly throughout this tournament and the side we have selected includes three of the most impressive bowlers in Dale Steyn, Samuel Badree and Lasith Malinga.”

Men’s team: 

Rohit Sharma (India), Stephan Myburgh (Netherlands), Virat Kohli (India), JP Duminy (South Africa), Glenn Maxwell (Australia), MS Dhoni (India - captain), Darren Sammy (West Indies), Ravichandran Ashwin (India), Dale Steyn (South Africa), Samuel Badree (West Indies), Lasith Malinga (Sri Lanka).

12th player: Krishmar Santokie (West Indies)

Women’s team:  

Suzie Bates (New Zealand), Charlotte Edwards (England - captain), Meg Lanning (Australia), 

Sarah Taylor (England - wicketkeeper), Stafanie Taylor (West Indies), Deandra Dottin (West Indies), Ellyse Perry (Australia),  Natalie Sciver (England), Salma Khatun (Bangladesh), Poonam Yadav (India), Anya Shrubsole (England) 

12th Player: Shabnim Ismail (South Africa)