Wednesday, January 17, 2018

Barrackpore get 2nd chance at final glory


Barrackpore skipper: Keron Kanhai

Mark Fraser

Flashback to May 10 last year. Barrackpore West Secondary, who were a Championship Division team then, lost the PowerGen Secondary Schools Cricket League Twenty20 InterCol final in the last over against Premier Division side El Dorado East Secondary at Guaracara Park, Pointe-a-Pierre.

Today they will get a chance at redemption when they face Carapichaima East Secondary for the trophy from 6.30 p.m. in the second match of T20 double-header at Guaracara Park, Pointe-a-Pierre.

The first match bowls off at 3 p.m. and will crown a new Girl’s champion as Cedros Secondary, led by Rashne Deojit, take on Amrita Bissoon’s Cunupia Secondary in the Girl’s Open final.

For the Boy’s final, Barrackpore skipper Keron Kanhai, who bowled the last over in the 2013 final, said his team is a lot more experienced now and his hoping that will give them the edge against their opponents.

Among the experienced players in the Barrackpore line-up are batsman Jeron Maniram, a match-winner for Trinidad and Tobago in the Regional Under-17 tournament last year, along with pacer Shane Smith, who can also hit the ball a long way, and the skipper, who is one of the players vying a for a place in this year’s national Under-19 side.

“We have a much stronger side than last year. That final is in the past. We have put that behind us. We are focused on this match and cricket is a funny game and whoever plays the better on the day will come out victorious,” said Kanhai.

“Carapichaima have a good side with some national players as well like Justin Joseph and ‘Charlo’ (Dejourn Charles) so we cannot underestimate them,” Kanhai added.

Carapichaima skipper Joseph said his players are well aware of the dangers posed by their opponents and will be prepared for the challenge.

“We have been working very hard for this tournament. We know they are a strong team and we know they have good players. We have been assessing their players so we will be ready for them,” Joseph said.


Carapichaima East Secondary—Justin Joseph (captain), Demetrius Edwards, Dejourn Charles, Christopher Vincent, Anderson Phillip, Akeel Antoine, Ryan Persad, Amir Ali, Brandon Ali, Shakim Nurse, Emmanuel Ramsaroop, Darien Ramkhalawan, Vishal Lakhan. Prakash Sookhai (coach), Augustus Farrell (manager).

Barrackpore West Secondary—Keron Kanhai (captain), Jeron Maniram, Quane Ragoonanan, Dillon Mohammed, Brandon Jaggernauth, Negus Smith, Shane Smith, Jerve Cummings, Riaz St Clair, Renny Jangeesingh, Jameson Pittie, Brandon Lee Ramcharan, Steven Cyrus, Orlando Williams, Michael Dindial. Shal Ramkissoon (coach), Kelvin Dookie (manager).

Cedros Secondary—Rashne Deojit (captain), Natasha Goocool, Ronniella Ramsaroop, Antonia Sealy, Narsha St Louis, Kishelle James, Daniella Seepersad, Olivia Clarkson, Monique Borhai, Danicia Frederick, Cyrstal Simeon, Kayla Celestine, Alisha Ali. Richard Lewis (head coach), Nicole Hills (assistant coach), Geraldine George-Francis (manager/coach)

Cunupia Secondary—Amrita Bissoon (captain), Rosemary Samaroo, Kavita Rajkumar, Reshma Soodoo, Annalise Donawa, Bernadine Parris, Esther Baine, Hadiyah Hercules, Sapphire Douglas, Sharon Rose O’Brian, Philicia Williams, Jomela                                            Cato, Tamika Denny. Rawle Harry (coach), Shahanaz Harry (manager).