Tuesday, January 23, 2018

Bassarath still in charge of TTCB

Trinidad and Tobago Cricket Board (TTCB) president Azim Bassarath won a third stint as head of local cricket after defeating former Test cricketer Dinanath Ramnarine for the top spot during yesterday’s TTCB elections at the National Cricket Centre, Balmain, Couva.

Bassarath won 28 votes to Ramnarine’s 20 in a key battle during the elections, which were conducted during the Board’s 57th Annual General Meeting (AGM).

Forty-eight delegates representing clubs, zones and affiliates voted at yesterday’s meeting, with Bassarath’s Movement for Change making a clean sweep.

Ramnarine was nominated to challenge Dr Allan Sammy for the post of first vice president, with Sammy winning that battle 28 to 20.

The other executive positions were unopposed, with the Movement for Change completing a clean sweep.

Sammy takes over from Dudnath Ramkessoon as first vice president while Lalman Kowlessar retained his position as second vice president.

The TTCB also changed its constitution this year to provide for a third vice president, and that post was won by new North Zone chairman Patrick Rampersad.

Arjoon Ramlal returned as general secretary while Sukesh Maniam was elected as treasurer for another term.

After the vote, Bassarath gave his assurance that the defeated candidate would be given an opportunity to serve to ensure that cricket continues to develop in T&T.

“Mr Ramnarine is a member of the National League and he is a member of the Board now and not only Ramnarine. We have Daren Ganga and Giles Antoine and it is important we have players like that and people like that who are members of the board now, and definitely I can give you the assurance that they are going to be utilised to make sure cricket is served properly in Trinidad and Tobago,” said Bassarath.

The TTCB president said that he and his administration have some work to do with the clubs who voted overwhelmingly for Ramnarine’s candidates in the Club Representative Elections.

“From the very beginning of this campaign I was very confident that we would have returned to office, and the performance over the past four years speaks for itself, and that is the reason why I think the people and the different affiliates supported us. We know we have some work to do with the clubs and we are going to do that, and I am quite sure in the next three years when elections are called again we are going to get every stakeholder in the board supporting us.”

TTCB Election Results


Azim Bassarath–28

Dinanath Ramnarine–20

First Vice President

Dr Allan Sammy–28

Dinanath Ramnarine–20

Second Vice President

Lalman Kowlessar–Unopposed

Third Vice President

Patrick Rampersad–Unopposed

General Secretary

Arjoon Ramlal–Unopposed


Sukesh Maniam–Unopposed

Executive Members (Unopposed)

Ann Browne-John

Ian Ramlal

Manohar Ramsaran

Tarrandath Sammy

Baldath Mahabir