Monday, February 19, 2018

Bravo, Smith, Powell shine in Windies win over Ireland


West Indies made use of a solid opening partnership between Dwayne Smith and Kieran Powell to beat Ireland by four wickets in their one-off One Day International at Sabina Park, yesterday.

This was West Indies’ second victory on the trot following an 11-run win against the same opponents in a Twenty20 International match on Friday to draw the two-match series.

West Indies started in a hurry with Smith and Powell attacking the Irish bowlers and sharing 100 runs for the first wicket.

Smith, who was drafted in the team to replace an injured Chris Gayle, made good on this opportunity and raced to 55 off 53 balls.

Ireland brought themselves back into the match when Kirk Edwards and Darren Bravo went in quick succession. But Powell stayed around for a well played 57 off 72 balls.

Captain Dwayne Bravo had a quickfire 35 to bring the West Indies closer to their target.

Marlon Samuels and Darren Sammy were left unbeaten at the end to carry the West Indies home.

Earlier, Ireland recovered from 78 for 4 to reach 202 all out, thanks mainly to a 45-run stand between Gary Wilson (62) and Kevin O’Brien (22). Stuart Thompson also frustrated the West Indies bowlers with a stubborn 33.

Jason Holder (3-34), Dwayne Bravo (3-36) and Nikita Miller (2-30) were the pick of the bowlers.

Ireland, with one win from three matches on tour of the Caribbean, will switch attention to the International Cricket Council (ICC) World Twenty20 Tournament in Bangladesh.

West Indies will engage England in a three-match ODI series in Antigua followed by three T20s in Barbados.



Ireland 202 all out (49.2 overs)

*William Potterfield c +Denesh Ramdin b Miguel Cummins 25

Paul Stirling b Jason Holder 4

Ed Joyce c Jason Holder b Dwayne Bravo 25

Niall O’Brien c +Denesh Ramdin b Dwayne Bravo 12

+Gary Wilson c Kirk Edwards b Darren Sammy 62

Kevin O’Brien c & b Nikita Miller 22

Andrew Poynter c +Denesh Ramdin b Nikita Miller 3

Stuart Thompson c Kieran Powell b Jason Holder 33

Max Sorensen b Jason Holder 1

George Dockrell c & b Dwayne Bravo 1

Tim Murtagh not out 2

Extras: (lb 2, w 7, nb 3) 12

Total: (10 wkts; 49.2 overs) 202

Fall of wickets: 1-6, 2-54, 3-69, 4-78, 5-123, 6-132, 7-193, 8-198, 9-199, 10-202

Bowling: Jason Holder 9-1-43-3 (2w), Miguel Cummins 6-1-42-1 (3nb, 1w), Dwayne Bravo 9.2-0-36-3 (1w), Darren Sammy 8-0-29-1, Nikita Miller 10-0-30-2, Marlon Samuels 7-0-29-0 (2w)

West Indies 205 for 6 (36.4 overs)

Dwayne Smith c +Gary Wilson b Stuart Thompson 55

Kieran Powell st +Gary Wilson b Paul Stirling b 57

Kirk Edwards run out 2

Darren Bravo c+Gary Wilson b Stuart Thompson 1

Dwayne Bravo c Stuart Thompson b Max Sorensen 35

Denesh Ramdin lbw George Dockrell 15

Marlon Samuels not out 26

Darren Sammy not out 1

Did not bat: Jason Holder, Miguel Cummins, Nikita Miller

Extras: (lb 5, w 8) 13

Total: (6 wkts; 36.4 overs) 205

Fall of wickets: 1-100, 2-105, 3-108, 4-160, 5-172, 6-190

Bowling: Max Sorensen 4-0-34-1 (2w), Tim Murtagh 6-1-41-0 (1w), George Dockrell 9.4-1-48-1, Paul Stirling 10-2-42-1, Kevin O’Brien 3-0-18-0, Stuart Thompson 4-0-17-2 (1w)

Result: West Indies won by four wickets

Man-of-the-Match: Dwayne Bravo

Man-of-the-Series: Dwayne Bravo

Umpires: Gregory Brathwaite, Michael Gough

Fourth Official: David Odhiambo

Match Referee: Andrew Pycroft