WINNER IN 2 CATEGORIES: Express photographer Stephen Doobay


Browne, Mc Intyre dominate at powerlifting nationals

 Adrian Browne and Yolande Mc Intyre were the overall champions in the Open Male and Female divisions respectively when the Trinidad and Tobago  Power lifting Federation hosted its National Power lifting Championships at the Preysal Secondary School recently.

Browne also claimed the 105 kg title, while Mc Intyre won the 85kg category.

In the Men’s Overall Masters, Lawrence Marlon Belfon emerged victorious while Brendon Mathura claimed the Men’s Overall Junior prize.

In the division competitions, Vasudev Dyal won the Men’s  Sub-junior competition beating Matthew Maturasingh into second and Jordan Placide into third.

In the Men’s Junior Group A, Mathura won this title over Shemar Biggart on the way to the Overall crown. Michael Jack raised his hands in triumph in Group B over Hollis Stefan Coker while Marvin Jordan claimed Group C over Phillip Sammy.

Belfon won the Men’s Masters 1 over Doonath Balgobin. Stephen Doobay won the Men’s Masters 2 competition.

In the Weight Category competition, Mathura powered his way to another title in the Men’s 66kg, while Jack was the victor in the 74 kg.

Doobay also won the 83kg division, defeating Sammy, while Balgobin lifted his way to the 93kg top prize.

Marlon Parieaho and Placide won the 120kg  and 120 plus kg categories respectively.

This content requires the latest Adobe Flash Player and a browser with JavaScript enabled. Click here for a free download of the latest Adobe Flash Player.

Express Poll

Do you support the appointment of Presbyterian minister Rev Joy Abdul-Mohan as an Independent Senator?

  • Yes
  • No

Newsletter Sign Up

Subscribe to our FREE Digital Divide Newsletter.
To subscribe enter your email address
For Email Marketing you can trust


More Weather