Tops for 2012: Varun Maharajh, right, receives his 2012 President's Cup trophy from Ashwin Creed, Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Sports, at the Trinidad and Tobago Cycling Federation National Awards Ceremony at the VIP Lounge, Hasely Crawford Stadium in Port of Spain on Saturday.


Campbell in focus at TTCF awards

By Donstan Bonn

Rigtech Sonics' young rider Akil Campbell was one of the main attraction at the Trinidad and Tobago Cycling Federation (TTCF) 2012 National Awards Ceremony at the VIP Lounge, Hasely Crawford Stadium in Port of Spain on Saturday.

The ceremony, which celebrated the most outstanding riders for the period 2010 - 2012, saw Campbell dominate his category for the three-year period by copping the "Most Outstanding Tinymite" for 2010 and then following it up with the "Most Outstanding Juvenile" for 2011 and 2012.

Campbell, the current national Juvenile road and criterium champion, gained regional exposure this year when he represented Trinidad and Tobago at the Junior Pan American Cycling Championships, in Guatemala City, Guatemala in April and the Caribbean Road Cycling Junior Championships in the Dominican Republic last August.

Speaking to the Express after the ceremony, Campbell said that it has been quite a challenge to stay on top of his peers for the past three years.

"It has been a bit difficult especially with regards to training but I've been a bit more focused lately which led to me coming out on top this year."

Campbell said he believes the hard work he has been putting in is definitely paying off, adding that his introduction to Junior Pan Am this year was an eye opener.

"It was quite tough and I did not perform at my very best. Additionally, the level of competition was quite high which did not make it any easier."

He said he believes that Trinidad and Tobago currently have a crop of young cyclists that possess the potential to take cycling to the next level.

"Once our minds are on getting to the next level and we do what is necessary, then we can get there, but it would require a lot of dedication and support."

He added that while it would be great to ride at an Olympic Games, his real passion is to one day ride at the Tour de France.

"I am basically a road cyclist and my forte would be more endurance events so being able to ride at a Tour de France would really be a dream come true," Campbell said.

Another rider dominating his category for the period was Degree Madonna's Roger Smart. He copped the "Most Outstanding Master 40+ riders for all three years putting him a notch above his competitors while Olympian Njisane Phillip was honoured for his senior Pan Am match sprint gold in 2012; for winning the 2011 President's Cup and his performances at the 2012 London Olympic Games.

Quincy Alexander was honoured for his 2012 senior Pan Am gold in the kilometre time trial.


Most Outstanding 2012

Elite: Varun Maharajh (Degree Madonna)

Juniors: Justin Roberts (Parkside)

Juveniles: Akil Campbell )Rigtech Sonics)

Tinymites: Ramon Belmontes (Petrotrin)

Masters 40+: Roger Smart (Degree Madonna)

Masters 50+: Clyde Pollonais (Southclaine)

Masters 60+: Pat Nelson (Team Trek)

Senior Ladies: Denese Francis (Arima Wheelers)

Junior Ladies: Jodi Goodridge (Arima Wheelers)

Juvenile Ladies: Keianna Lester (Bike Smith)

Tinymite Ladies: Dominique Lovell (Arima Wheelers)

President's Cup winner: Varun Maharajh

Most Outstanding Club: Degree Madonna

Most Outstanding 2011

Elite: Njisane Phillip (Team Beacon)

Juniors: Kwesi Browne (Arima Wheelers)

Juveniles: Akil Campbell (Sonics)

Tinymites: Sei Daniel (Arima Wheelers)

Masters 40+: Roger Smart (Degree Madonna)

Masters 50+: Kenny Young (Team Trek)

Masters 60+: Ronald Peters (Degree Madonna)

Senior Ladies: Aziza Browne (Arima Wheelers)

Junior Ladies: Keianna Lester (Bike Smith)

President's Cup winner: Njisane Phillip

Most Outstanding Club: Arima Wheelers

Most Outstanding 2010

Elite: Christopher Sellier (Team Beacon)

Juniors: Varun Maharajh (Degree Madonna)

Juveniles: Justin Roberts (Parkside)

Tinymites: Akil Campbell (Sonics)

Masters 40+: Roger Smart (Degree Madonna)

Masters 50+: Courtney Mark (Corkie's Casual)

Masters 60+: Ronald Peters (Degree Madonna)

Senior Ladies (Road): Aurelia Constantine (Degree Madonna)

Senior Ladies (Track): Denese Francis (Arima Wheelers)

Junior Ladies: Tinelle Campbell (Rigtech Sonics)

President's Cup winner: Christopher Sellier

Most Outstanding Club: Degree Madonna

This content requires the latest Adobe Flash Player and a browser with JavaScript enabled. Click here for a free download of the latest Adobe Flash Player.

Express Poll

Should there be a public debate between Dr Keith Rowley and Pennelope Beckles-Robinson who are the candidates for leadership in the upcoming PNM internal elections?

  • Yes
  • No

Newsletter Sign Up

Subscribe to our FREE Digital Divide Newsletter.
To subscribe enter your email address
For Email Marketing you can trust


More Weather