Saturday, December 16, 2017

Canada give T&T practice today

The Trinidad and Tobago cricketers will get a workout over the next three days as they take on Canada in a three-day practice match as part of their preparations for the upcoming Regional Four-day and Regional Super50 tournaments.

T&T will be led by skipper Denesh Ramdin and the team includes Queen's Park Cricket Club skipper Justin Guillen who scored three centuries in trial matches recently, as well as West Indies players Adrian Barath and Lendl Simmons.

Off-spinner Amit Jaggernauth makes a return to the four-day set-up after being out of the team since 2011, while pacer Ravi Rampaul is part of the team but it was still uncertain if he would play in the three-day game since recovering from an injury that kept him out of T&T's successful Caribbean T20 campaign.

But even if Rampaul does not play, the team will not lack any pace, with fastbowler Shannon Gabriel in the line-up along with medium pace all-rounder Rayad Emrit.

T&T start their four-day campaign against the Windward Islands at Arnos Vale, St Vincent on February 15.

Nikhil Dutta and Rayyan Pathan will make their Canadian senior team debuts today.

T&T squad

Denesh Ramdin (captain) Adrian Barath, Justin Guillen, Marlon Barclay, Lendl Simmons, Evin Lewis, Jason Mohammed, Imran Khan, Amit Jaggernauth, Kavesh Kantasingh, Ravi Rampaul, Rayad Emrit, Shannon Gabriel

David Williams (coach), Omar Khan (manager)

Canada tour squad

Rizwan Cheema, Brampton Masters, Jimmy Hansra, Manny Aulakh, Damodar Daesrath, Nikhil Dutta, Jeremy Gordon, Ruvindu Gunasekera, Nitish Kumar, Usman Limbada, Henry Osinde, Hiral Patel, Rayyan Pathan, Junaid Siddiqui, Hamza Tariq.

Gus Logie (coach), Johnny Bujan (manager), Scott Stanger (strength and conditioning), Keith Deonaraine (performance analyst & selector)

Canada tour schedule

February 3-5

Three Day Match - National Cricket Centre, 10 a.m.

February 6

1st T20 - Guaracara Park, 6 p.m.

February 7

2nd T20 - Guaracara Park, 6 p.m.

February 9

50 Over Match- National Cricket Centre, 10 a.m.