Thursday, December 14, 2017

Central, East still unbeaten in Under-17 InterZone

Central and East remained unbeaten in the BG T&T InterZone Under-17 tournament yesterday to top their respective groups with one round of matches to be played next week.

Central defeated South East by seven wickets in the second round Group A match at Tableland Ground. Medium pacer Sachin Balai grabbed four for 20 to help dismiss South East for 82 in just 20.4 overs. Bryan Boodram then hit an unbeaten 28 as Central replied with 86 for three.

The other teams in Group A are South and South West, who have one win each.

East took the lead in Group B with a six-wicket win over North East at Honeymoon Park, El Dorado. They blew away North East for 98, while East replied with 101 for four, as Travis Mungalsingh hit 48.

The defending champions, North, were thwarted by rain as their encounter with Tobago was abandoned half-way through the match. North reached 249 for four, with Jordan Warner hitting 99 and Amir Jangoo adding 76 not out before rain intervened at the innings break.

The top two teams in each group will move on to next month's semi-finals.

Yesterday's BG T&T InterZone Under-17 Results:

At Tableland

South East 82 (20.4 overs) (Sachin Ramhack 20 n.o.; Sachin Balai 4/20, Christopher Roopnarine 2/12, Jarlanie Searles 2/30) vs Central 86/3 (22.1 overs) (Bryan Boodram 28 n.o., Emilo Gopaul 17 n.o., Jarlanie Searles 17; Jeron Maniram 1/14) –Central won by 7 wkts

At Happy Hill Rousillac

South West 114/8 (33 overs) (Clevon Kalawan 21, Neville Garcia 21; Dominic Nandlal 2/13, Dev Ramsumair 2/11) vs South 115/2 (17.3 overs) (Brian Deosaran 60) –South won by 8 wkts

National Cricket Centre

North 249/4 (45 overs) (Jordan Warner 99, Amir Jangoo 76 n.o., Cavan Byrne 35, Jean Paul Rocke 19 n.o.) vs Tobago –Match abandoned

Honeymoon Park

North East 98 (31.4 overs) (Sherwin Diaz 18, Kristoff Lewis 17; Levan Ramlogan 3/21, Akeel Seetal 2/16) vs East 101/4 (22.1 overs) (Travis Mungalsingh 48, Anthony Sieunarine 33; Amrish Rampersad 2/16, Amrit Kistou 2/19) –East won by 6 wkts