Sunday, February 25, 2018

Champs ‘El Do’ move on in SSCL InterCol

Defending champions El Dorado East Secondary will have a stiff test tomorrow when they face Fatima College in the quarter-finals of the PowerGen Secondary Schools Cricket League (SSCL) InterCol .

El Dorado made light work of Presentation College Chaguanas in their first T20 outing yesterday, restricting their opponents to 72 for eight in their 20 overs at Honeymoon Park in Tacarigua. ‘El Do’ then crusied to victory in 16 overs, reaching 73 for one.

Kareem Hamilton hit 33 for El Dorado, while Emilio Gopaul was the only Presentation wicket-taker.

But when Presentation batted, they were thwarted by Akeil Seetal and Ewart Nicholson, who took two wickets each. Vehindra Jagroop’s 25 was Presentation’s top score.

Fatima’s day was a little more challenging, but they got past Naparima College by five wickets with four balls to spare. Naparima batted first and reached 102 for seven in their allotted overs, and Fatima responded with 105 for five.

For Naparima, national wicket-keeper Nicholas Pooran made 41, while Chris Mohammed assisted with 20. Jonathan Hirst was Fatima’s best bowler with two for 12 in his four overs.

When Fatima batted, Kelly Rosales led the offensive to finish on 52 not out, while Camilio Carimbocus supported with 16. Jordan Samkarran of “Naps” took two wickets.

Only one match was not played, as Union Claxton Bay yesterday defaulted on their meeting with Princes Town West Secondary.

The other quarter-final match ups will see Carapichaima East Secondary meeting Hillview College, while Vishnu Boys College will meet Princes Town. And Trinity College East face Barrackpore West Secondary, as all these teams achieved victory yesterday.

The venues for those encounters had not yet been confirmed up to press time last night.

Yesterday’s Scores:

St Mary’s 49 all out in 16 overs (Amir Ali 2/7, Justin Joseph 2/8, Christopher Vincent 2/12) vs Carapichaima East 51/1 in 6 overs (Anderson Phillip 27, Justin Joseph 21 n.o.)

Carapichaima East won by nine wickets

Trinity East 112/6 in 20 overs (Keegan Simmons 44) vs Iere High 60/9 in 20 overs (Josiah Mendoza 4/10, Brian Christmas 2/6)

Trinity East won by 52 runs

Barrackpore West 144 in 20 overs vs Shiva Boys 137/9 20 overs

Barrackpore West won by seven runs

Naparima 102/7 in 20 overs (Nicholas Pooran 41, Chris Mohammed 20; Jonathan Hirst 2/12, Daniel Brown 1/13, Donovan Clayton 1/13) vs Fatima 105/5 in 19.2 overs (Kelly Rosales 52 n.o., Camilio Carimbocas 16; Jordan Samkarran 2/19)

Fatima won by five wickets

Presentation Chaguanas 72/8 in 20 overs (Vehindra Jagroop 25; Akeil Seetal 2/7, Ewart Nicholson 2/9) vs El Dorado East 73/1 in 16 overs (Kareem Hamilton 33; Emilio Gopaul 1/15)

El Dorado won by nine wickets

Barataria South 89/9 in 20 overs (Akinton Walker 38, Dexter Sween 11; Vikash Mohan 4/13, Timothy Jugmohan 2/15) vs Vishnu Boys 92/6 in 18 overs (Bryan Boodram 22, Jesse Fletcher 15 n.o.; Marlon Phillip 2/16, Kevis John 2/21)

Vishnu Boys won by four wickets