Friday, January 19, 2018

Champs Queen’s Park face Clarke Road in Sunday League final



Mark Fraser

Queen’s Park Cricket Club will be going for their fifth consecutive Premier Division Sunday League 50-over title today when they face Penal-based team First Citizens Clarke Road in the tournament final bowling off at 2.30 p.m. at UWI SPEC, St Augustine.

The Parkites are unbeaten so far this season but had a tough semifinal against PowerGen, which they won by just seven runs.

Their opponents easily defeated Jenexcon Tableland by 100 runs to seal their spot in the final.

The Parkites are without six players who played in the semifinal--Adrian Barath, Darren Bravo, Jonathan Augustus, Daron Cruickshank, Shannon Gabriel and Akeal Hosein.

Hosein is out with a thigh injury while the other Queen’s Park players are with the Trinidad and Tobago regional four-day squad in Barbados.

Despite missing six players, Queen’s Park coach David Furlong still thinks he has a strong line-up, which includes veteran off-spinner Amit Jaggernauth and Barbados pacer Fidel Edwards, who could play a key role in the game.

West Indies Under-19 opening batsman Jeremy Solozano has been drafted into the side along with St Mary’s College batsman Jason Batson and Fatima College’s Kelly Rosalis.

“It is the first time we are facing them in the final. They have been performing well and we have taken note. They have good players in their side and we will have to look at ways to combat them,” Furlong said.

“I think we have a good, balanced team and we normally plan our season knowing that we will be missing some of our key players. I think we have a strong team,” he added.

Clarke Road also have some young players, including exciting West Indies Under-19 wicketkeeper Nicholas Pooran who scored a half century in the team’s semifinal win. Barbados all-rounder Kyle Mayers is also in the mix along with Guyana batsman Ryan Ramdass, and the Penal team will be looking to those players to come good in the final.

They will be without medium pacer Ray Jordan, who took three early wickets to set up their win in the semi.

Clarke Road coach Dasrath Maharaj said: “We have nothing to lose and everything to gain. They (Queen’s Park) are champs. They are formidable. But we are in the final and I think we are quite capable of getting a victory.” 


QPCC: Justin Guillen (captain), Jeremy Solozano, Petrock Nicholas, Marlon Barclay, Kevon Cooper, Tion Webster, Khary Pierre, Fidel Edwards, Anthony Balgobin, Amit Jaggernauth, Jason Batson, Kelly Rosalis, Shakeel Johnson. David Furlong (coach).

Clarke Road: Sean Siloch (captain), Adrian Ali, Ryan Ramdass, Ranga Lachana, Nicholas Pooran, Yannick Ottley, Kyle Mayers, Vinod Siew, Derone Davis, Kissondath Magram, Mukesh Persad, Dominic Nandlal, Clevon Kallawan. Dasrath Maharaj (coach)