Sunday, February 25, 2018

Clarke Road capture Sunday League title


four sixes and three fours in a 27-ball 44: Clarke Road Nicholas Pooran

Mark Fraser

First Citizens Clarke Road United clinched their first Sunday League 50-over title in over a decade when they upset four-time champions Queen’s Park Cricket Club by 72 runs in the 2014 final at UWI SPEC in St Augustine on Wednesday night.

Clarke Road, who, according to their president Baldath Mahabir, last won the limited overs crown in 2000, batted first in Wednesday’s final and posted 282 for seven off their 50 overs with half-centuries from skipper Sean Siloch (72 off 90 balls) and Ryan Ramdass (61 off 99 balls) setting the foundation with a 111-run stand for the second wicket.

The pair came together after Adrian All departed in the fourth over with the score on ten.

The second wicket stand repaired the innings but was broken when Siloch was caught behind by wicketkeeper Anthony Balgobin in the 27th over with the score on 121.

After that Nicholas Pooran slammed four sixes and three fours in a 27-ball 44 and Ranga Lachana hit 38 off 37 with three sixes and two fours to accelerate the scoring in the second half of the innings. 

Yannick Ottley also had a good knock, hitting two sixes in an unbeaten 30 off 29 balls. 

Ottley was involved in what looked like a heated exchange of words with the Parkites fielders, but kept his cool to bat to the end.

In reply, the Parkites were all out for 210 off 47.1 overs with left-arm spinner Derone Davis grabbing four for 39 including the key wicket of Petrock Nicholas who slammed 87 off 103 balls to keep the Port of Spain club in the fight for most of the innings.

Nicholas shared an 83-run stand with Khary Pierre for the sixth wicket, taking the score from 106 for five in the 27th over to 189 in the 39th before he sent back a low catch to Davis to bring the Queen’s Park resistance to an end.

Two early wickets from Barbados all-rounder Kyle Mayers also played a key role in the win. The medium pacer sent back Jeremy Solozano in the sixth over with the score on 37 and then had Justin Guillen caught behind by wicketkeeper Adrian Ali for 39 in the tenth with the score on 55.

After the win, Man of the Match and Best Bowler of the final Davis was happy to see his club back where it belongs.

“It has been 14 years since we won the competition. We spoke about it but we did not want to put pressure on ourselves. Fourteen years is a long time and it is good to see Clarke Road is back on top,” he said.

“They guys really wanted it as much as myself so I was looking to bowl tight and I got some wickets and I was thankful for it,” Davis added.

Siloch praised his players for pulling off the victory against the Parkites.

“It was obviously a weakened team but the depth in the Queen’s Park Club is always there so we really needed to be at the top of our game,” he said.

“Even without some of their top players, they still played well and even though we posted a challenging total they still came pretty close in the end but we have a lot of depth of our bowling and that helped us come out on top in the end. We stuck to our plan in our batting to bat through to the 30th over and we had the batting in the end to get a big score.

“We have a young team and the attitude on the field is good. The guys are always hyped up, pumped and ready to play and the youthful enthusiasm has paid off this year for Clarke Road,” the captain added.



Clarke Road Innings

A Ali c Cooper b Edwards 7

R Ramdass c wkpr Balgobin b Cooper 61

S Siloch c wkpr Balgobin b Batson 72

Ranga Lachana c&b Pierre 38

N Pooran c&b Cooper 44

Y Ottley not out 30

K Myers c&b Cooper 5

D Davis b Cooper 2

V Siew not out 10

Extras (lb 3, w 7, nb 3) 13

TOTAL (for seven wickets; 50 overs) 282

Did not bat: Magram, Persad

Wickets at: 10 (Ali), 121 (Siloch), 174 (Lachana), 186 (Ramdass), 244 (Pooran), 255 (Mayers), 261 (Davis)

BOWLING: Cooper 10-0-41-4 (4w); Edwards 7.1-3-23-1 (2nb); Pierre 10-0-64-1; Webster 8.5-0-65-0 (3w, 1nb); Jaggernauth 8-0-46-0; Batson 6-0-40-1


QPCC Innings (Target: 283)

J Guillen c wkpr Ali b Mayers 39

J Solozano c Lachana b Mayers 6

P Nicholas c&b Davis 87

M Barclay run out 2

K Cooper c Davis b Lachana 14

T Webster stp wkpr Ali b Magram 10

K Pierre c&b Davis 27

A Balgobin stp wkpr Ali b Davis 5

J Batson not out 6

F Edwards b Davis 3

A Jaggernauth c Lachana b Ottley 2

Extras (lb 1, w 8) 9

TOTAL (all out; 47.1 overs) 210

Wickets at: 37 (Solozano), 55 (Guillen), 57 (Barclay), 89 (Cooper), 106 (Webster), 189 (Nicholas), Pierre (196), 203 (Balgobin), 207 (Edwards), 210 (Jaggernauth)

BOWLING: Davis 10-0-39-4 (3w); Mayers 7-0-44-2 (2w); Persad 10-0-39-0 (1w); Ottley 8.1-0-30-1; Lachana 6-0-25-1; Magram 6-0-32-1 (2w)


Toss: Won by Clarke Road who elected to bat first

Result: Clarke Road won by 72 runs

Man of the Match: Derone Davis (Clarke Road)

Umpires: A Creed, K Kowlessar