Friday, January 19, 2018

Comets in trouble as QPCC grab 1st innings

National League Premier Division leaders Alescon Comets had their title aspirations dealt a big blow yesterday by defending champions Queen's Park Cricket Club, and will need inspired performances with both bat and ball to get back on track today.

After 48.4 overs at Pierre Road, Comets would have thought the day was theirs, having dismissed the "Parkites" for 187, Marlon Barclay's 42 the best score that the visitors could muster thanks to Ansil Bhaggan's seven wickets.

But that was where the good day ended for the hosts. T&T off-spinner Amit Jaggernauth (five wickets) and pacer Ricardo Paty (two) then proceeded with a demolition of their own, shooting out Comets for a paltry 130. Daren Ganga (38) and Stephen Wharwood (36) got starts for the home team. Queen's Park closed on 75 without loss with Justin Guillen (41 not out) and Petrock Nicholas (21 not out) at the crease.

Meanwhile at Gilbert Park, second-placed Moosai Sports are all ready to benefit from Comets' misery. Sent in to bat against Caldrac Sports, Moosai racked up 352 for seven in 69.2 overs before declaring on the strength of half centuries from Neil Williams (69), Navin Stewart (63) and schoolboy Ewart Nicholson (62).

All matches continue today from 9.30 a.m.

Summarised scores:

At Diego Martin:

Aranjuez 346 all out in 98 overs (Dion Ferreira 109 n.o., Kelon Carmichael 60, Jonathan Cabralis 50, Idrees Mohammed 41; Javed Ramdhanie 3/49, Kashtri Singh 2/43, Emile Rajah 2/67) vs Merry Boys 31/0 (Amir Jangoo 17 n.o., Mario Belcon 12 n.o.)

At Pierre Road:

QPCC 187 in 48.4 overs (Marlon Barclay 42, Tion Webster 37, Petrock Nicholas 29; Ansil Bhaggan 7/80) & 75-0 in 9 overs (Justin Guillen 41 n.o., Petrock Nicholas 21 n.o.) vs Comets 130 in 31.1 overs (Daren Ganga 38, Stephen Wharwood 36; Amit Jaggernauth 5/22, Ricardo Paty 2/12)

At Kennedy Park:

Clarke Road 301-7 dec. in 80 overs (Latchana Rangana 108 n.o., Ryan Ramdass 105, Adrian Ali 24, Anthony Bramble 26; Jonathan Foo 3/73, Visham Ramroop 2/71) vs Diamond 61-4 in 18 overs (Emmanuel Lett 20, Sanjiv Gooljar 1/7)

At Gilbert Park:

Moosai 352-7 in 69.2 overs (Navin Stewart 63, Neil Williams 69, Ewart Nicholson 62; Ancil Nedd 3/83, Dave Teelucksingh 4/83) vs Caldrac 146-7 in 31 overs (Mark Deyal 58, Franklyn Rouse 40; Amir Khan 4/33, Keith Hazel 2/24)

At Syne Village:

PowerGen 283 all out in 65.1 overs (Evin Lewis 103, Nicholas Sookdeosingh 119, Sherwin Ganga 21, Akeil Cooper 24; Selwyn Jacobs 6/59, Darren Deonarine 4/77) vs Bamboo Sports 135 all out in 32.3 overs (Krishna Arjune 20, Terrence Hinds 38, Ryan Baksh 32; Samuel Badree 4/51, Dave Mohammed 3/23, Sherwin Ganga 2/39, Kavesh Kantasingh 1/5)