Wednesday, February 21, 2018

Cooper, Lewis confirmed for ‘Single Wicket’

 Trinidad and Tobago pair, all-rounder Kevon Cooper and talented opening batsman Evin Lewis, are the latest players to be confirmed for the Caribbean Single Wicket cricket tournament, which takes place tomorrow at Sir Frank Worrell Ground, UWI, St Augustine from 3 p.m.

Cooper, along with Sunil Narine, Lendl Simmons and Barbados’ Dwayne Smith were all confirmed as the four seeded players, who will not face each other in the preliminary stage of the tournament.

The foursome are the top seeds for the tournament that will feature all rounders from five territories--Antigua, Barbados, Guyana, Jamaica and T&T.

All four players were featured in the semi-finals of the Champions League Twenty20 last weekend.

Lewis was one of T&T’s best player in the Champions League T20, and now will be looking to prove he is the best in the Caribbean.

Other players in the competition include another Barbados all-rounder in Jason Holder, Guyana’s Christopher Barnwell, Antigua’s Devon Thomas and Navin Stewart and Sherwin Ganga. The organisers have also thrown in two wild-card entries in UWI all-rounder Takeem Lowe and T&T player Marlon Richards, who replaces the injured Rayad Emrit in the competition.

The winner of the tournament will pocket US$3,000.

The preliminaries bowl off at 3 p.m., with the semi-finals scheduled to start at 7 p.m.

There will also be entertainment at the venue including a rhythm section and chutney artistes and the Carib girls will be in attendance.  

Admission is $60.00.