SECOND PLACE: Coosals Las Lomas United captain, Yaseeh Ali, right, gets the League Cup runners-up award from TTFA General Secretary, Sheldon Phillips. Las Lomas won the Central Football Association League title and was also named Team of the Year.


Cunupia FC win Sanitank Central League Cup

Anthony Noel’s 57th minute goal gave Cunupia FC the title of Sanitank League Cup champions as they beat Coosals Las Lomas United 1-0 to lift the title last Thursday at Hugo Francis Recreation Ground in Chaguanas.

The final brought the curtain down on the Central Football Association’s (CFA) 2013 season, and for Team of the Year Coosals Las Lomas United, it was insult added to the injury, as it was the second successive defeat for a team that had previously been undefeated. Las Lomas’s coach, Randolph Boyce, was also named Coach of the Year.

The other defeat for the CFA 2013 League champions came in the form of an embarrassing 6-1 thrashing at the hands of Enterprise Youths FC in the CFA Ramsingh Sports FA Trophy final, won won their only trophy of the season.

In that match, Enterprise led 1-0 on a Trevern Sobers 36th minute goal. But the floodgates really opened in the second half, with Denzil Daniel scoring in the 46th, 73rd and 78th minutes to register his hat-trick, while Kefim Blackford assisted with two goals of his own in the 44th and 65th minutes.

Shaquille Holder got the lone item for Las Lomas in the 51st minute.

Before the match kicked off the newly appointed Major of Chaguanas, Gopaul Boodhan, and TTFA general secretary Sheldon Phillips greeted the teams. 

A minute of silence was also observed in honour of former South Africa president and freedom fighter Nelson Mandela, who passed away last week.

The season’s prize giving ceremony took place immediately after Thursday’s League Cup final. For their League win, Las Lomas took hom $10,000 and the winners’s trophy, with Cunupia, second, getting $5,000. Their FA Cup win earned Enterprise $2,000 and a trophy, while League Cup win saw Cunupia FC collect $2,000 and a trophy.




Las Lomas United


Randolph Boyce (Las Lomas United)


1. Las Lomas United

2. Cunupia FC

3. Enterprise youths FC 

4. Eagles United

Most Goals Trophy- Kefim Blackford (Enterprise Youths FC)


1. Enterprise Youths FC

2. Las Lomas United

3. Cunupia FC


1. Cunupia FC

2. Las Lomas United

3. Edinburgh 500, Fire Services (Losing semi-finalists)

This content requires the latest Adobe Flash Player and a browser with JavaScript enabled. Click here for a free download of the latest Adobe Flash Player.

Express Poll

Do you support the call for the immediate removal of AG Anand Ramlogan by civil rights group Fixin' T&T?

  • Yes
  • No

Newsletter Sign Up

Subscribe to our FREE Digital Divide Newsletter.
To subscribe enter your email address
For Email Marketing you can trust


More Weather