Saturday, February 24, 2018

Defence Force bag North Zone Twenty20 title

 Defence Force were crowned Trinidad and Tobago Cricket Board (TTCB) North Zone Twenty20 champions after defeating Sweet Revenge by eight wickets in the final of the Toyota-sponsored tournament at the Invin-cible Ground, Queen’s Park Savannah, Port of Spain on Sunday.

After being sent in to bat, Sweet Revenge could only muster 121 for six off their 20 overs.

Shawn DeSouza top-scored for Sweet Revenge with 41 while Sheldon Thomas chipped in with 20. Frank Simmons had the best bowling figures for Defence Force, grabbing one wicket for 18 runs off his four overs.

The Coast Guard/Army combination then made light work of the target, scoring 122 for two off just 14.4 overs with Adrian Burke        scoring an unbeaten 51 and big-hitting Andel Maynard notching 41 not out as they took home the first prize of $20,000.

The two sides will now represent the North Zonal Council in the Courts TTCB Club Championship later this month.