Friday, February 23, 2018

East take Under-15 title


Fourth straight title: The East Zone Under-15 cricketers, flanked by coach Tarandath Sammy, right, and manager Kumar Singh, left, pose with the BG T&T Under-15 InterZone trophy after beating South East on first innings in the tournament final at Inshan Ali Park, Preysal, on Wednesday. —Photo: RODDY LALMAN/TTCB

Mark Fraser

 East Zone Under-15 skipper Kirstan Kallicharan performed with  the ball to lead his team to a first innings victory and the BGTT U-15 championship on Wednesday  at Inshan Ali Park, Preysal.

Kallicharan grabbed three for 54  to check the South East run chase  to 144 for eight in 58 overs when the match was called off and the East declared champs.

After making 185 for three off their 37 overs in their first innings, East were scuttled out for 131 in their second innings in 55.1 overs in their second innings. South East’s Avinash Mahabirsingh grabbed five for 28.

Chasing 215 for victory,  South East were restricted to reached 144 for eight,  with Teshawn Alleyne (two for 30) supplementing Kallicharan’s bowling effort.

Summarised scores

East 185-3 (37 overs) (Kirstan Kallicharan 108 n.o.; Avinash Roopnarine 2/22) & 131 (55.1 overs) (Rickash Boodram 27, Nathaniel McDavid 24, Kirstan Kallicharan 23;  Avinash Mahabirsingh 5/8, Justyn Gangoo 3/40) vs South East 101 (30.4 overs) (Cephas Cooper 56; Nathaniel McDavid 3/35) & 144-8 (58 overs) (Justyn Gangoo 37 n.o., Cephas Cooper 37; Kirstan Kallicharan 3/54, Teshawn Alleyne 2/30)

—Match Drawn, East won on first innings