Wednesday, January 24, 2018

‘East’ versus ‘West’ in InterCol T20 final

The curtain will come down on the 2013 PowerGen Secondary Schools Cricket League (SSCL) season in grand style today as El Dorado East Secondary try to defend their InterCol Twenty20 title against Barrackpore West Secondary in the Boys’ final at Guaracara Park, Pointe-a-Pierre from 6.30 p.m.

The Boy’s final will follow the crowning of new champions in the SSCL Girls T20 competition.

The Girls’ final takes place from 3:30 p.m. with Fyzabad Composite taking on Barrackpore East for the title at the same venue.

Last year’s winners Naparima Girls High School failed to make the final this time around.

In the Boys final, Barrackpore, who were runners-up in the Championship Division this season, upset the Championship Division winners Vishnu Boys in their semi-final clash on Monday with skipper Keron Kanhai hitting 82 and taking two wickets.

Kanhai, who was part of the Trinidad and Tobago Under-17 team last year, is confident his team can take down the champions in the final, which is a feat that fellow Championship Division side Barataria South Secondary failed to accomplish a year earlier.

But El Dorado, who did not have the best of seasons in the Premier Division, will be looking to end on a high and retain the coveted T20 trophy.

They will be led by Ewart Nicholson, who represented T&T at the Under-19 level last year, and will also have the experience of hard-hitting opening batsman Shaquille McDavid to call on, as well as clinical finisher Kyle Ramoutar down the order.

McDavid scored an unbeaten half century in the 2012 final to lead the Adrian Geeban side to a five-wicket triumph.

The El Dorado opener is also coming into the final on a high after scoring a century for the SSCL team in India earlier this year.

Barrackpore are also looking for their second InterCol title in as many finals. But unlike El Do, their last appearance in the SSCL showpiece was in 2005 when the Jason Mohammed-led Barrackpore side overcame Princes Town in the 30-over final.

Kanhai’s team will be looking to replicate that success.


El Dorado East Secondary: Ewart Nicholson (captain), Kyle Lee, Kareem Hamilton, Shaquille McDavid, Reshawn Baptiste, Tevon Jadoo, Kyle Ramoutar, Akeel Seetal, Kerron Simmons, Jamalee Johnson, Nathaniel McDavid, Keston Pran, Renaldo Ramoutar, Darnell Sookhoo, Darrel Boodram. Indar Ramgoolam (head coach), Deosaran Ramnath (assistant coach), Nigel Maraj (manager), Amrita Maharaj (assistant manager).

Barrackpore West Secondary: Keron Kanhai (captain), Quane Ragoonanan, Dillon Mohammed, Jeron Maniram, Jameson Pittie, Brandon Jaggernauth, Riaz St Clair, Miguel Francis, Brandon Lee Ramcharan, Renny Jangeesingh, Olando Williams, Vishal Roopnarine, Steven Cyrus, Steffon Katwaroo, Michael Dindayal. Shal Ramkessoon (coach), Kelvin Dookie (manager).