Sunday, December 17, 2017

Eddie Hart opens Sunday

A season of the longest running minor league football competition in the country, the Eddie Hart Football League, opens on Sunday at the Tacarigua Savannah.

Eddie Hart League will be celebrating its 48th year since being founded in 1967 by former People's National Movement (PNM) government minister Eddie Hart.

The 2014 opening kicks off with a 2 p.m. march past of teams, accompanied by the Police and Prisons band. Entertainment will also be provided by steelbands and deejays after which there will be exhibition football matches. Finally, the league will reward the top teams of last season at their prize-giving ceremony at 6 p.m.

Over the years, the Eddie Hart League has been the "nursery" ground where players of secondary school age have gotten their first introduction to competitive football. The league has produced national men's footballers such as Stern John, Russell Latapy and Clayton Ince, while among the ladies came Shanelle Warrick, Avianne Douglas and Kemica Alexander.