Saturday, February 17, 2018

Emrit: Four-day award a motivation

Trinidad and Tobago were named the Regional Four-Day Team of the Year at the West Indies Cricket Board/West Indies Players Association Awards ceremony in Jamaica on Thursday night and skipper Rayad Emrit believes the accolade will motivate his team to lift their game for next season.

T&T were big winners on the night, with Darren Bravo winning the Player of the Year and Caribbean Twenty20 Player of the Year awards, Sunil Narine taking the T20 International Player of the Year award and Dwayne Bravo winning the One-day International Player of the Year trophy.

Emrit, who led the T&T side this season in the absence of regular skipper Denesh Ramdin, noted that his players have been putting in a lot of extra work over the past few years as they set their sights on the four-day title.

T&T defeated five-time defending champions Jamaica at Sabina Park in the semi-final last year before losing to Barbados in the final at Kensington Oval.

“I am happy to hear that (T&T are the Regional 4-Day Team of the Year) and I know the guys would be very proud of that,” said Emrit.

“We really wanted to give a better account of ourselves in the four-day tournament. We came close last year and reached the final and we were very close again this year. We have been training really hard for the four-day tournament and I am sure this award will give the guys more motivation to do better,” he added.

“We have learned a lot from this year. We played one bad game and that cost us the title this year but there are a lot of young players coming through the ranks and they understand what four-day cricket is about and I am sure they are looking forward to bringing home the title next season,” said Emrit.

The Trinidad and Tobago Cricket Board (TTCB)  president Azim Bassarath also congratulated the T&T players on their achievements .

 “We extend our heartiest congratulations to these three illustrious sons of the soil who have proven by these awards that they are not only among the best in the region but among the best in the world,” Bassarath said in a TTCB media release yesterday. 

“We are extremely proud not only of our own Bravo brothers and Narine but the other award winners who are a credit to the Caribbean and the game of cricket. They are indeed role models who the young people can emulate if they are to distinguish themselves,” the TTCB president added.




Player of the Year: Darren Bravo

Test Player of the Year: Shivnarine Chanderpaul

One Day International Player of the Year: Dwayne Bravo

T20 International Player of the Year: Sunil Narine

Women’s Player of the Year: Stafanie Taylor

Regional 4-Day Player of the Year: Nikita Miller

Regional Limited Overs Player of the Year: Shane Shillingford

Caribbean T20 Player of the Year: Darren Bravo

Emerging Player of the Year: Miguel Cummins

Under-19 Player of the Year: Tagenarine Chanderpaul

Regional 4-Day Team of the Year: Trinidad and Tobago

Under-19 Team of the Year: Jamaica

WICB Lifetime Achievement Awards

Teddy Griffith

Lockhart Sebastien