Tuesday, February 20, 2018

Emrit wrecks QPCC, gives Merry Boys 1st inns

Trinidad and Tobago all-rounder Rayad Emrit snatched five for 30 to lead Merry Boys to first innings honours against Queen's Park Cricket Club on day one of their National League Premier Division match at Diego Martin Recreation Ground yesterday.

The medium pacer's efforts saw defending champions Queen's Park dismissed for 135 in reply to Merry Boys's first innings of 143, and with the hosts closing the day at 43 for one in their second turn at the crease, the Parkites will have to dig deep to try and to salvage points when the match resumes today.

All-rounders Kjorn Ottley and leg-spinner Imran Khan, also T&T players, were also outstanding yesterday, with Ottley hitting 116 (five sixes and eight fours) to help Moosai Sports post 284 in their first innings against Alescon Comets at Pierre Road, Charlieville.

Khan took five for 80 for the hosts, who were 141 for five at stumps with Daren Ganga on 39 not out.

All matches continue today from 9:30 a.m.

Yesterday's TTCB Premier Division scores:

At Kennedy Park

F&E Diamond United 140 (64 overs) (Keron Kanhai 33, Visham Ramroop 26, Vishal Singh 19; Dane Teelucksingh 4/48, Mark Deyal 2/8, Allen Laurent 2/13, Ancil Nedd 2/46) vs Caldrac Club 54/5 (21 overs) (Mark Deyal 20, Franklyn Rouse 20; Farrel Jugmohan 3/28)

At Pierre Road

Moosai Sports 284 (66.2 overs) (Kjorn Ottley 116, Jeetendra Sookdeo 35, Navin Stewart 34; Imran Khan 5/80, Kissoondath Magram 3/68) vs Alescon Comets 141/5 (34.5 overs) (Daren Ganga 39 n.o., Sergio Fedee 32, Kevin Stoute 31; Javon Searles 2/33, Navin Stewart 2/33)

At Diego Martin Rec Ground

Merry Boys 143 (Aaron Alfred 37, Troy Cornelius 32; Akeal Hosein 3/8, Kevon Cooper 2/26, Amit Jaggernauth 3/52) & 43/1 (Mario Belcon 32 n.o.) vs QPCC 135 (Akeal Hosein 32; Rayad Emrit 5/30)

At Esmeralda Rec Ground

Seenath's Auto Bamboo Sports 138 (Krishna Arjune 57) & 39/0 vs Esmeralda 129 (Anthony D'Andrade 50, Teshawn Castro 33)

At Aranjuez

HKL Aranjuez 225 (86 overs) (Vikash Mohan 78, Jonathan Cabralis 59, Michael Brown 32, Deon Ferrier 25; Samuel Badree 4/47, Sherwin Ganga 3/58, Dave Mohammed 3/59) vs PowerGen 155/3 (27 overs) (Nicholas Sookdeosingh 58, Evin Lewis 47)

At Wilson Road

First Citizens Clarke Road vs W Connection Wanderers– Wanderers defaulted