Monday, January 22, 2018

Frederick gets hundred in Spartan League

 Mikhael Frederick of Fulham Sports slammed the first century of the Spartan Youth League Under-17 competition in the opening round  over the previous weekend, hitting 102 to lead his club to an easy 139-run win over Triumph Sports at Garden Village in Arouca.

Frederick’s century helped Fulham post 224 off their 20 overs before dismissing Triumph for 85.

The Twenty20 league, which is being hosted by Spartan Sports Club, will feature two age groups--Under-13 and Under-17--with matches being played on weekends for the next two months.

The teams taking part in the league include Trinidad and Tobago Cricket Board Premier Division clubs KFC Comets, PowerGen Penal Sports Club, Preysal Cricket Club, Moosai Sports, Queens Park Cricket Club and Esmeralda Sports Club.

The other teams are the K Rampat Coaching Academy, Triumph Sports Club, Guaico-Tamana Sports Club, Fulham Sports Club, Curepe Sports, Paharry Sports Club, Spartan Sports Club, Buggy Haynes Coaching Clinic, LH Movers Sports Club, and Jaric Titans Sport and Development Club from Tobago.

Summarised scores


At Hardial Park Macoya

Nisar Mohammed Clinic 83-8 (Darion Dodds 22 n.o.) vs Spartan Sports 84-2 (Brent Barker 25) 

—Spartan won by eight wickets

At Pierre Road

KFC Comets 130-7 (Joshua Bankay 36, Renaldo Forrester 22) vs Preysal 82-8 (Darius Gopaul 20) 

—Comets won by 48 runs

At Vessingy High School

PowerGen Penal defeated Esmeralda Sports by 46 runs

At The Queens Park Savannah

QPCC defeated Fulham by 118 runs


At Pierre Road

KFC Comets defeated the K Rampat Coaching Academy

At Vessingy

K Rampat Coaching Academy B defeated PowerGen Penal by 53 runs

At Hardial Park

Preysal 116-8 (Saiba Battoosingh 27, Nicholas Bachan 21) vs Spartan 119-4 (Imtiaz Mohammed 57, Brandon Barker 35) 

—Spartan won by six wickets

At Garden Village

Fulham 224 (Mikhael Frederick 102) vs Triumph Sports 85 --Fulham won by 139 runs

At The Queens Park Savannah

Curepe Sports defeated QPCC

Today’s fixtures

(All matches start at  8 a.m.)


LH Movers vs QPCC, Dinsley

Buggy Haynes vs Preysal, Eddie Hart

PowerGen vs Comets, Syne Village

Esmeralda vs Spartan, Ragoonan Road