Sunday, January 21, 2018


Ramkessoon pleased with T&T’s picks for WI ‘A’ One-Dayers


BACK IN THE A TEAM: Out-of-favour West Indies batsman, Lendl Simmons.

Mark Fraser

Trinidad and Tobago Cricket Board (TTCB) chairman of selectors Dudnath Ramkessoon said the four national players selected to the West Indies A squad will have a good opportunity to perform at a high level and put their names on the top of the minds of the West Indies selectors for their senior team.

The West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) released a 13-man team headed by  West Indies batsman Dwayne Smith, who will lead the West Indies A team against Sri Lanka A team in two T20 matches this week at Arnos Vale in St. Vincent.

The four T&T players on the squad are opener Lendl Simmons, Shannon Gabriel, Kevon Cooper and leg-spinner Samuel Badree.

“I am very happy the four players have been selected on the West Indies A team. These games will provide them the opprotunity  to showcase their talent. These players are also going to be a part of the  CPL so this is a continuation of their good work and a reflection of our (T&T cricketers) strength in this format of the game,” said Ramkessoon, the TTCB first vice president.

Ramkessoon said the team has a strong look to it  with Smith, a prolific scorer in the just ended Indian Premier League (IPL), as one of four members of the West Indies World T20 champion team named on the regional A team for the series.

The others are  Simmons, allrounder Andre Russell, and  Badree  who were part of the squad that beat Sri Lanka to win the prestigious ICC World T20 Trophy at the R Premadasa Stadium last October.

The quartet will form the main part of the Windies A Team when the matches are played on Tuesday and Wednesday with the first ball being bowled in both matches from  2 pm (1 pm Jamaica Time).

The 13-man squad includes four other players who have represented the West Indies in T20 Internationals.

They are: fast bowler Gabriel, off-spinner Ashley Nurse, top-order batsman Nkrumah Bonner and batting allrounder Christopher Barnwell.

The rest of the squad is seam bowler Kevin Cooper, who has performed with distinction for Trinidad & Tobago; wicket-keeper Chadwick Walton, who played two Test matches back in 2009; rookie allrounder Kyle Mayers; left-arm fast bowler Sheldon Cotterell, and middle-order batsman Keddy Lesporis- both graduates of the Sagicor High Performance Centre. 


Dwayne Smith (Captain)

Samuel Badree

Christopher Barnwell

Nkrumah Bonner

Kevon Cooper

Sheldon Cotterell

Shannon Gabriel

Keddy Lesporis

Kyle Mayers

Ashley Nurse

Andre Russell

Lendl Simmons


Chadwick Walton (wicket-keeper)