Wednesday, February 21, 2018

Good day for Cole, Lester in Road Champs


IN WINNERS ROW: Trinidad and Tobago Cycling Federation (TTCF) Junior Ladies National Road Championships winner Keiana Lester, centre, stands with second placed Teneil Campbell, right, and Dominque Lovell following the 48.6 kilometre race in Cumuto yesterday. —Photo courtesy TTCF

Mark Fraser

Tyler Cole ruled the Juveniles yesterday, but only just as he held off the competition in a bunch sprint to take the 48.6 kilometre ride in the 2014 National Championships Road Race in Cumuto.

Cole barely edged out Rigtech Sonics teammates Nicholas Paul (second) and Ronell Woods (third), as the trio all clocked 1:18:29 to share the podium. The action was very tight, with Lorenzo Orosco a mere four seconds behind.

There were no surprises with the Junior Ladies, as Bike Smith’s Keiana Lester continued her great form to win in 1:31.47. Teneil Campbell (Sonics) was second, Arima Wheelers securing the next two spots with Dominique Lovell and Cheyenne Awai respectively.

Jabari Whiteman (Southclaine; 40.25) secured victory over 24.3km in the Tinymites Men category, while Wayne Samuel (Southclaine), Earl McLeod (Heatwave) and Ronald Peters (Madonna Wheelers) were victorious in the Masters 50-59 (48.6km), Masters 60-69 (24.3km) and Masters 70-plus (24.3km) categories in that order.

The competition continues today, with the Elite Men, Elite Ladies, Junior Men and Masters 40-49 all taking a gruelling 145km ride from Ato Boldon Stadium in Couva to Point Fortin, with a hilltop finish at Gran Couva.

The riders are battling for the chance to represent Trinidad and Tobago at the upcoming Elite and Junior Caribbean Cycling Championships, as well as the CAC Games.

Yesterday’s results

Juvenile Men - 48.6km

1. Tyler Cole (Sonics) – 1:18:29 2. Nicholas Paul (Sonics) – 1:18:29 3. Ronell Woods (Sonics) – 1:18:29 4. Lorenzo Orosco (Slipstream) – 1:18:33


Junior Ladies - 48.6km

1. Keiana Lester (Bike Smith) – 1:31:47 2. Teneil Campbell (Sonics) – 1:31:47 3. Dominique Lovell (Arima Wheelers) – 1:31:47 4. Cheyenne Awai (Arima Wheelers) – 1:31:52


Tinymites Men - 24.3km

1. Jabari Whiteman (Southclaine) – 40:25 2. Darius Beckles (Parkside) – 42:05 3. Adam Francis (The Braves) – 43:20 4. Zion Pulido (Sonics) – 44:05


Masters 50-59 - 48.6km

1. Wayne Samuel (Southclaine) – 1:21:55 2. Derek De Gannes (The Braves) – 1:21:55 3. David Hackshaw (Slipstream) – 1:21:55 4. Cyril Fook (Parkside) – 1:21:55


Masters 60-69 - 24.3km

1. Earl McLeod (Heatwave) – 41:15 2. Pat Nelson (The Braves) – 42:01 3. Foster Francois (Bike Smith) – 43:22 4. Peter Hernandez (Hummingbird) – 43:22


Masters 70+ - 24.3km

1. Ronald Peters (Madonna) – 41:45 2. Joey Nunes (Hummingbird) 3. Lennox Parris (Southampton)