GOLDEN BOY: Olympic gold medallist Keshorn Walcott speaks to the audience after receiving the 2012 Spirit of Sport Sport Performance of the year award at last year’s ceremony. —Photo: JERMAINE CRUICKSHANK


Gordon, Ince lead strong SOSA cast

By Mark Pouchet

Trinidad and Tobago hurdler Jehue Gordon and Paralympic swimmer Shanntol Ince are two of the major contenders for the top Male and Female Athlete of the Year awards respectively when the Spirit of Sport Awards (SOSA) take place today at the Queen’s Hall, St Ann’s .

Gordon, who won gold in the Men’s 400m hurdles at the IAAF World Outdoor Track and Field Championships, and Ince who won four golds at Junior Paralympic Games, are also in the race for the Sports Performance for the Year award, along with George Bovell (bronze in the men’s 50m freestyle at the FINA World Swimming Championships), Dylan Carter (silver in the men’s 50m butterfly at the FINA World Youth Swimming Championships) and cyclist Njisane Phillip (silver in the UCI World Cup Series first leg in Manchester).

Carter walked away with the SOSA Junior Male Athlete of the Year trophy during the 2013 SOSA Nomination Ceremony at Queen’s Hall, St Ann’s on December 17.

Also nominated for the Junior Male Athlete of the Year award were table tennis player Arun Roopnarine, cricketer Jeremy Solozano, golfer Sachin Kumar and cyclist Justin Roberts.

Carter was nominated in five other categories—including Male Athlete of the Year, Breakthrough Performance of the Year, Record Breaking Performance of the Year, Emerging Athlete of the Year and Sport Performance of the Year.

The 17-year-old will come up against fellow swimmer Bovell, Phillip, Gordon and West Indies mystery spinner Sunil Narine for the Male Athlete of the Year.

Ince will have for competition cricketer Kirbyina Alexander, shot-putter Cleopatra Borel, gymnast Marisa Dick and table-tennis player Aleena Edwards for the Female Athlete of the Year.

On December 17,  eight of the winners were announced along with the nominees for the other categories. The winners of the remaining categories will be revealed during the 2013 SOSA Ceremony, themed “Forged from the Love”, at Queen’s Hall today.

Also among the winners on December 17 was table tennis’ Jasher De Gannes, who won the Junior Female Athlete of the Year.

The School of the Year trophy went to St Joseph Convent Port of Spain, while the Educator of the Year was Lucia Nero-Giles.

Other awardees included Cedric Hazelwood, who won the Community Coach of the Year, San Fernando Sports Academy—the Community Group of the Year—and Magic Community Boxing Gym, the Community Team of the Year.

The Just Because Foundation Kiddi K Walk against Paediatric Cancer won the award for Sport for a Social Cause.

Phillip was also on hand to receive a special token from the Ministry of Sport and the Sport Company of T&T (SPORTT) for winning the country’s first UCI World Cup silver medal.


Junior Female Athlete of the Year 

Emma Davis - Tennis

Christina Ferreira - Golf

Kristin Julien - Swimming

Jeminise Parris - Athletics

Jasher De Gannes - Table Tennis (winner)

Junior Male Athlete of the Year

Arun Roopnarine - Table Tennis

Sachin Kumar - Golf

Jeremy Solozano - Cricket

Justin Roberts - Cycling

Dylan Carter - Swimming (winner)

School of the Year

St Augustine Secondary 

Trinity College East

St Joseph’s Convent, Port of Spain (winner)

Educator of the Year 

David Asgarali, La Puerta Government Primary

Vasdev Bob Roopnarine, Debe Secondary

Lucia Nero-Giles, St Joseph Secondary (winner)

Community Coach of the Year 

Kwanieze John

Cedric Hazelwood (winner)

Community Group of the Year

Ashmead Ali Contracting Services

Magic Community Boxing Gym 

San Fernando Sports Academy (winner)

Community Team of the Year 

Jenexcon Tableland Sports Club - Cricket

La Romaine Jet Stars - Basketball

Magic Community Boxing Gym, Carenage - Boxing (winner)

Sport for a Social Cause  

Scotiabank Women against Breast Cancer 5K Classic

The Sports Desk

Just Because Foundation Kiddi K Walk against Paediatric Cancer (winner)


Manager of the Year

Kirth Davis - Hockey 

Anthony Ramjit - Cricket

Dexter Voisin - Athletics

Technical Team Member 

Verne Alleyne

Gerald Garcia

Wayne Samuel

Ian Sharpe

Consistent Performer

George Bovell - Swimming

Christina Ferreira - Golf

Jehue Gordon - Athletics

Sunil Narine - Cricket

Arun Roopnarine - Table Tennis

Comeback Performance of the Year

Emile Abraham - Cycling

Stacy Ann King - Cricket

Romona Modeste - Athletics

Team of the Year

Senior T&T men’s cricket team

Senior T&T men’s hockey team

Senior T&T men’s rugby (sevens)

Coach of the Year

Glenn “Fido” Francis - Hockey

Stephen Hart - Football

Franz Huggins - Swimming

Dr Ian Hypolite - Athletics

Anil Roberts - Swimming

Athlete with Disability (Physical)

Shanntol Ince - Swimming

Ronald Carlos Greene - Athletics

Wimana Akeem Stewart - Athletics 

Community Sport Programme

Deaf Sports Organisation of Trinidad and Tobago

KFC/Comets Youth Development Programme

San Fernando Future Football Stars

Community Champion

Andy Allan

Preston Nanan

Kwanieze John 

Parent of the Year

Mr & Mrs Ince

Mr & Mrs Kallicharan

Sean Olton

Breakthrough Athlete of the Year

Dylan Carter - Swimming

Marisa Dick - Gymnastics

Jehue Gordon - Athletics

Shanntol Ince - Swimming

Njisane Phillip - Cycling

Record Breaking Performance of the Year

Dylan Carter - Swimming

Njisane Phillip - Cycling

Jehue Gordon - Athletics

Emerging Athlete of the Year

Dylan Carter - Swimming

Marisa Dick - Gymnastics

Shanntol Ince - Swimming

Nicholas Pooran - Cricket

Justin Roberts - Cycling

Male Athlete of the Year

George Bovell - Swimming

Dylan Carter - Swimming

Jehue Gordon - Athletics

Sunil Narine - Cricket

Njisane Phillip - Cycling

Female Athlete of the Year 

Kirbyina Alexander - Cricket

Cleopatra Borel - Athletics

Marisa Dick - Gymnastics

Aleena Edwards - Table Tennis

Shanntol Ince - Swimming

Sport Performance of the Year

George Bovell - Swimming

Dylan Carter - Swimming

Shanntol Ince - Swimming

Jehue Gordon - Athletics

Njisane Phillip - Cycling

This content requires the latest Adobe Flash Player and a browser with JavaScript enabled. Click here for a free download of the latest Adobe Flash Player.

Express Poll

Are you experiencing the benefits of the $1 billion worth in water projects since 2010?

  • Yes
  • No

Newsletter Sign Up

Subscribe to our FREE Digital Divide Newsletter.
To subscribe enter your email address
For Email Marketing you can trust


More Weather