Wednesday, February 21, 2018

Grassroot coaching programme starts

 THE TRINIDAD and Tobago Cricket Board (T&TCB) will officially launch the West Indies Cricket Board  (WICB)-organised Grassroot Cricket Coaching Programme  today.

The intensive coaching programme, designed to unearth budding talent, will be conducted from 3.30 p.m. to 5 p.m. at several centres in the eight T&TCB affiliated zones, including Tobago.

All centres will be manned by on-field assessors and highly regarded and qualified coaches who will ensure that the highest levels of skill and knowledge are imparted to the young cricketers.

Following are the coaching venues:

North East Zone

Manzanilla Recreation Ground

Cunaripo Recreation Ground

Matura High School


North Oropouche Recreation Ground

On-field assessor 

Coaches:  Sunil Rampersad, Bhagwandass Ramlohan, John Lewis, Leona Thomas, James Singh

East Zone

Brazil  Ground

Mico Recreation Ground,  Boundary Road

Canefarm Recreation Ground

Riversdale Recreation Ground

Eddie Hart Ground, Tacarigua

La Horquetta South Government Primary School  

On-field assessor: Rajendra Ramadhin (754-9078)

Coaches: Kelvin Arneaud, Aslim Mandol, Steve Chadban, Randy Ramjit, Egan Bazzey, Rhonda Jones

North Zone

Mucurapo Secondary

Carenage—L’Anse Mitan Playground, Seaview Gardens, Waterman Road

Diego Martin—Sparrow Drive, Simeon Road, Petit Valley

On-field assessor: Winston Sobers 

Coaches: Paul Clarke, Richard Peters, Marlon Peters

Central Zone

Felicity—Invaders Ground, Maha Sabha Street

Brasso Recreation Ground

Chase Village—Agostini Settlement KPA Primary

Esperanza Recreation Ground

Cunupia Government

Waterloo—Brickfield Recreation Ground

On-field assessor: Narsingh Rambarran 

Coaches: Adesh Dass, Angus Miguel, Denzey Sieunarine, Hadeed Ali, Keith Joseph, Krishan Rampat

South East

Renown Recreation Ground

South Oropouche Recreation Ground

Tableland—George Village Recreation Ground

Biche Recreation Ground

Kernahan Recreation Ground

Killdeer Recreation Ground

Brickfield Recreation Ground

Presbyterian No 2 Recreation Ground

On-field assessor: Rydell Ramsaran 


Coaches: Noor Mohammed, Desmond Mohammed, Shiva Rambaran, Anthony Morales, Rampersad Jagroop, Latchman Rampersad, Margaret Samuel, Shireen Ramkissoon


Penal—Bakal Ground

Diamond Recreation Ground

Bonne Aventure

Lower Barrackpore


Penal Presbyterian, Rock Road

On-field assessor: Randy Mangaroo 

Coaches: Avinash Seetaram, Randy Mangaroo, Jarred De Gannes, Shal Ramkissoon, Keshava Ramphal, Simbhoonath Beepath

South West

Fyzabad Secondary

Siparia/Iere High School

Happy Hill/Rousillac

St John’s Recreation Ground

Palo Seco

NMO Grant Trace

On-field assessor: Brendon Ramlal 

Coaches: Nigel Lakhan, Stephen Lakhan, Ganeshram Singh, Ramjattan Gangadeen, Richard Pierre, Stephon Sahibram


Shaw Park, Scarborough

Canaan/Bon Accord


Louis D’Or

Mt Grace



Mt Pleasant

On-field assessor: John Pollard