Saturday, January 20, 2018

Teen Kumar creates Open history

Sachin Kumar continued his consistent play to win the 107th Trinidad and Tobago Open played at St Andrews Golf Course. Kumar became the youngest ever winner of the Open surpassing Ben Martin, Stephen Ames, Alan Mew and Chris Harries who were all under 17 when they won.

Kumar had rounds of 73,72,71 and 75 for a total of 291 three over par.

In second place in the Championship flight was Clint Alfred who had a total of even par 300. Adrian Norford of St Kitts finished in third place on 302, with Deryck Gonsalves and Wan Ju Lee tied for fourth with a total of 304.

The First flight winner Sol Joanni of the Leewards G.C in Tobago continued his dominance of his flight, even though he shot 80 his worst score of the tournament--yesterday. His four-day scores of 71, 76 and 69 (the lowest score of the tournament) and 80 gave him a total of 296, which was the second lowest in the tournament. Omesh Dinath finished in second place with 327 and teenagers Jonathan Mitchell and Ryan Peters ended up tied third.

In the Seniors division, Dave Rajkumar convincingly won with a four day total of 300 strokes with his 79 yesterday being his worst score following his previous scores of 76,71and 74. In second place with a total of 308 was Richard Camacho, with Reynold Deonath a further nine strokes behind in third place.

Among the Super Seniors, Tyrone Leong stormed to an eight stroke win, shooting 75 yesterday to finish with a total of 309. Monty Chapman who started one stroke behind, had a bad day and shot 82 but still managed to finish second. In third place was Stephen Attin on a total of 322.

For the first time in many a year there were no holes-in-one so the $240,000 prize on offer by Angostura for the first hole-in-one-on a par three hole went unclaimed.

Meanwhile, the Trinidad and Tobago Presidents Cup team of Shane Costelloe (81) and Clint Alfred (75) held on to beat the St Kitts team of Adrian Norford (73) and Raymond Percival (82) by 10 strokes. Defending champions Barbados finished in third place.